Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Very nice Alpine theme, very quaint pool area

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Location: Centrally located.
Everything about this hotel was wonderful. The staff was attentive, the rooms were immaculate and the ambiance radiated Austrian/Swiss charm.
5 out of 5
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2016
What a great experience! We travel to Vail at least twice a year, this is our first time staying with the Sonnenalp. Needless to say it will not be our last. Great job from the staff all around.
5 out of 5
by Denny from Denver

Great Place to Stay

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
This place is First Class. Everything was WONDERFUL.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely place

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Very nice hotel with great staff and accommodations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Fantastic service!!!

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate needs. Even went to their brought bread that we had night before at dinner to breakfast when asked. Food was outstanding. Distinctive European feel. Will be my go to place when vacationing in Vail. Loved every minute. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from London, UK

Unbeatable experience at the Sonnenalp

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Sonnenalp for the week of 11 January for an extended skiing vacation. Whether by the General Manager himself, the waitstaff, front desk or housekeeping, the level of service provided was flawless. One is truly made to feel special at the Sonnenalp. On arrival, we received an upgrade to a large suite with fireplace and enormous bathroom. From the Frette linens to the turn down service with cookies and water each evening, we were very pampered. The in-room humidifier was essential given the extremely cold temperatures. We were graciously welcomed for the Sonnenalp breakfast each morning, with the staff knowing us by name from the second day. The breakfast buffet is of excellent quality and really is an event in and of itself. In terms of the ski valet, it really does function the way in which described by other reviewers; you barely have to lift a finger and your ski equipment is duly taken into care by the SkiHaus staff on arrival and retrieved at the base of Lift 1 each day. Kudos to the SkiHaus staff as well for keeping the welcome back cookies and water stocked! All in all, the Sonnenalp provides an unmatched experience which far exceeds the luxury American hotel chains in Vail. We cannot wait to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ROMELIA from Leon

Muy bueno

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Súper bien el. Hotel es perfecto Comida y. Servicio. Y la ubicación es perfecta para ir a skiar
5 out of 5
by Tom M.

Sonnenalp before the Holidays

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Orbitz
The Sonnenalp is a first-class hotel with all the amenities. The entire hotel is so well designed, with a great lobby, library, lounge (live music every night), and dining rooms... Our favorite was the casual Bully Ranch bar/restaurant. The Sonnenalp breakfast was fantastic, with an amazing variety of fresh fruits, meats, homemade breads & pastries. The hotel is about a five-minute walk to ski lifts, but the Sonnenalp has a ski concierge located right next to Gondola One, where you store your skis, poles, snowboard, and boots (with air dryers), and attentive staff. We were also very impressed that the owner, Johannes Faessler was a visible friendly presence, making sure that everyone was happy, and willing to chat and answer any questions. He has to be one of the top hoteliers in Vail & the Rockies!