Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

A premium price mostly for a premium location

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Premium location within one minute walk of Gondola One in Vail Village is very convenient for skiers. You pay a premium price mostly for location during peak season. I paid an Expedia sale price for their cheapest room the last week of ski season so I did not experience the best the resort has to offer. My room was a One king bed room which is an adjoining room to a larger suite. I suppose it was worth what I paid off peak but i question it's value at peak rates. The room met my basic needs but it was cramped. The bathroom was very small. The bed was not comfortable for me but that is a matter of personal preference. What I didn't like about my room was that the windows opened to a balcony which was accessed only by a door to the adjoined suite. This was ok when the adjoined suite was vacant the first two nights. But then the entire hotel was invaded by a convention of teenagers for the Future Business Leaders of America. There were several teenagers staying in my adjoined suite utilizing the balcony right outside my windows inviting their friends over. I thought it was ridiculous for the hotel to book me in this room with the suite rented. I complained and asked to be moved. Initially I was told there were no other rooms available. But I persisted and the manager moved me to another room. The hotel waived my resort fee for the inconvenience which was a nice gesture. The staff at this hotel are very friendly courteous and attentive (front desk, bellman, valet etc).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Cons: Master Bathroom shower was very difficult to get in and out of.
Location: great location
jfjfjwes;kdfw;lkjdf;lkjfdw;lkjdfw;lkjdfs;lkjcs;lnc.nce;oijfew';djdfs'lkjnclkjf'weldjskl;nsl;kjnfe'oiwjfdw'lkncs/lkn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfectly located luxury

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Location cannot be faulted: 50metres from Gondola 1. Right next to the main shopping street & restaurants. The hotel is splendid, but slightly dated & the rooms are small & tired; however the facilities are exceptional with a massive pool & modern gym with movement room attached. Didn't use the spa. Breakfast buffet was sumptuous - even skiing all day won't burn it off: fabulous. Staff attentive - first class service: perfect. Nice little touches - hot apple punch & chocolate with cookies in the afternoon /apres ski; iced water always available & even marsh mellows with chocolate & fruits at least once a week. One word of warning, like the rest of Vail - it's not cheap, in fact it's plain simply expensive! European skiing on this kind of budget would be opulently magnificent, even if the snow might not quite make the grade, though don't rely on it, as the snow can be just as ropey late season in Vail, as we discovered...but they do speak English in the US & are unbelievably friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'll be back!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Great location, less than 5 min from Gondola One and / or Village shops. Ski valet service is wonderful. Extremely helpful staff. Heated outdoor pool and hot tubs. Nice fire pit. This hotel is now our Vail resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Skiing with the kids.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We've stayed here several times now and it's really convenient. The location is great; just walk out the door and your in the heart of the village, and steps from Gondola One. The ski valet at the base of the mountain is another plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oldest in Vail Village but in the middle of it all

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The location is the best in all of Vail. In the middle of the Village, steps from Gondola One. Staff and amenities are great, however it is the oldest hotel property in Vail and it shows around the edges. It is a ski resort after all but if you're looking for five stars, there is always the Four Seasons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Chester

Missing a Certain Vibe

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better value for the price - breakfast, happy hour, music, etc.
Location: The Lodge is right in the center of Vail Village and convenient to everything - shops, restaurants, bars, and, of course, the slopes
The location is great, which is why we chose this hotel for our second visit, but it has lost some appeal in the past decade. It is still a comfortable and clean place to stay, but very, very expensive for just a standard hotel room. Our friends had a 3-bedroom suite and had some plumbing issues. The staff was very responsive, and they were given a discount to compensate, but the hotel is showing some age. We were disappointed in the lack of entertainment/apres ski options - on our first visit the hotel was buzzing with a certain vibe that was decidedly missing this time. We were told that there had been a recent turnover in management, and we visited at the end of the ski season, so maybe it was just a matter of timing, but the Lodge was disappointing for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of Vail

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Superior Vail experience for Lux, Location, and Libations. Elways Steakhouse in the hotel. Walk out to Lift One at mtn base. Bring your mate here for perfect Vail ski weekends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vail experience

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great location within walking of everything needed for a great Vail experience. Rental skis, lift tickets, food, drink, spa, clothing, ice skating, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to gondola

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Room needs a makeover The lighting is deficient, no reading light and a horrible white cold light over the bed Kitchen is good The shower could also be modernized The showerhead isn't that nice and you cant put the shower on without getting wet Everything else is excellent