Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel and staff made our stay very relaxing and comfortable. Everything was great from the valet welcome to the fresh baked cookies at night. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable with the heated bath floor and the great view from our personal veranda. The spa staff was very accommodating while we enjoyed the pool and hot tubs. Location was also great with direct access to the shopping district and several great restaurants surrounding it. Looking forward to our next stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was good but not great. Several of the on-site restaurants were closed. Parking was valet only @ $32 per night and there was an undisclosed $35 resort fee when we checked out. Several things in the room didn’t work such as the hair dryer, certain lights and the tile floor heater. Thought the floor heater would be a nice feature but had to crawl under the bathroom vanity to turn it on - and then didn’t work anyway!!
5 out of 5
by robert

Sonnenalp is the gem of Vail

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
We are so happy to have found Sonnenalp this trip to Vail. Every detail is important to the staff. The location is at the center of the Village and accessible to public transportation. We loved our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Old world comfort

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on CheapTickets
It is a charming hotel with excellent amenities and an ideal setting. That being said, the bathroom and fixtures are a little 90s. Probably about time for some remodeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

OK hotel, no where near a 5 star.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, Bully Ranch, location.
Cons: have comfortable beds, several comfortable pillows, a TV you can see from the bed, coffee service in the room, no dead plants or broken doors.
Location: Great location with Vail Village right out of the door. Restaurants, shops.
We were given an upgrade upon checking in, which was nice. However, the room was underwhelming. There was a door to a small balcony, with dead plants in the planter, that had the wood frame broken and just hanging there. The TV was located in an armoire and could not be viewed from the bed as 1/3 of the screen was blocked by the door of said armoire. There was no coffee maker in the room. The bed was too firm, almost hard, and the TWO pillows on the king size bed were below average. It resulted in very little sleep. The toiletries were of the refill variety and available for purchase, unlike most hotels that give a small individual size of the various items for you to take home and give a little something to remember that property. When we initially went to our room, the hallway had an aroma of a sewage treatment plant. That pleasantry was there until the following day. With all this said, the Bully Ranch had a friendly staff and great mudslides. A 5 star? No. A 2.5 to a 3 star? Yes
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Hotel staff was very helpful love Vincent the concierge made the stay stress free by helping us find places to eat that were open during the off sesaon. Air conditioning didn't work, was able to keep cool by running the fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sonnenlap

Posted Oct 5, 2017
The staff is what makes this place great. Everything from the front desk, valet, and activity staff was amazing. Our room setup needed some improvement. The tv you could only see from one side of the bed and the siting area in front of the fireplace you could not see the tv from. Otherwise the fireplace and porch was a great addition and we really enjoyed them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We had an amazing time. The staff where always helpful and friendly they always when above and beyond to make us comfortable. Amazing suite over looking the pool, with a fireplace. We had a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
by Ginger

Summer stay in Vail

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing! The staff was also incredible. Great room with a balcony, fireplace, heated tile in the bathroom, comfortable bed, huge closet, etc. The location was great; just steps away from the Vail Village shops and restaurants. We very much want to go back and stay again.