Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

So much more than expected

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Everything you live in the Sonnenalp leaves a happy feeling about it. People are great, excellent restaurants, outstanding spa, location, the ski concierge- The cookies, the people again! Its a must importante Vail Love the place!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and quite location.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Fire place
Location: Shops and mountains
Awesome and very enjoyable stay! Everyone will love the location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Thanksgiving Holiday

Posted Nov 26, 2017
This is our second Thanksgiving at The Sonnanalp. It will now be our tradition. The feeling is warm and cozy. It is steeped in European tradition from the staff to the owners that are also there to welcome you and visit with you. The Thanksgiving dinner is a gourmet feast. Thanksgiving morning starts With snowshoeing with Kara . She is one of the guides at the hotel and she makes the event a beautiful experience. And we can eat that extra piece of pie after burning off 1000 calories. My dream is to live sat the Sonnenalp in Vail. That would be living the dream. See you next year. XOXO Nancy O
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heavenly

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We spent a lovely family weekend at the Sonnenalp. Hotel is charming, pool is great, food fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

OK hotel, no where near a 5 star.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The staff, Bully Ranch, location.
Cons: have comfortable beds, several comfortable pillows, a TV you can see from the bed, coffee service in the room, no dead plants or broken doors.
Location: Great location with Vail Village right out of the door. Restaurants, shops.
We were given an upgrade upon checking in, which was nice. However, the room was underwhelming. There was a door to a small balcony, with dead plants in the planter, that had the wood frame broken and just hanging there. The TV was located in an armoire and could not be viewed from the bed as 1/3 of the screen was blocked by the door of said armoire. There was no coffee maker in the room. The bed was too firm, almost hard, and the TWO pillows on the king size bed were below average. It resulted in very little sleep. The toiletries were of the refill variety and available for purchase, unlike most hotels that give a small individual size of the various items for you to take home and give a little something to remember that property. When we initially went to our room, the hallway had an aroma of a sewage treatment plant. That pleasantry was there until the following day. With all this said, the Bully Ranch had a friendly staff and great mudslides. A 5 star? No. A 2.5 to a 3 star? Yes
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Hotel staff was very helpful love Vincent the concierge made the stay stress free by helping us find places to eat that were open during the off sesaon. Air conditioning didn't work, was able to keep cool by running the fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sonnenlap

Posted Oct 5, 2017
The staff is what makes this place great. Everything from the front desk, valet, and activity staff was amazing. Our room setup needed some improvement. The tv you could only see from one side of the bed and the siting area in front of the fireplace you could not see the tv from. Otherwise the fireplace and porch was a great addition and we really enjoyed them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We had an amazing time. The staff where always helpful and friendly they always when above and beyond to make us comfortable. Amazing suite over looking the pool, with a fireplace. We had a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
by Ginger

Summer stay in Vail

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing! The staff was also incredible. Great room with a balcony, fireplace, heated tile in the bathroom, comfortable bed, huge closet, etc. The location was great; just steps away from the Vail Village shops and restaurants. We very much want to go back and stay again.