Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Outstanding

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Great services, location, gym, and staff. The best place in Vail!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Christine - Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Steve, Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, staff, and facility. We would be delighted to see you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We were fortunate to be able to find this hotel. Hotel staff are friendly and willing to help 24/7. The room was very clean. The mattresses very soft and comfortable. Location is very close to vail village and it will take only couple of minutes to walk. Thank you Vail Mountain Lodge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost great!

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
Overall I loved this lodge! The staff was inviting, the local area distance was walkable without feeling too much as energy waned. The room was cozy and perfect for the occasion. My only concern was the lack of ventilation in the bathrooms, any smells origination in the bathroom lingered there and eventually moved out into the main area of the room. Another comment I have is having to see used qtips on the elevator floor, left behind when a cleaning lady was moving the trash out and some feel out. Just a few of them though so it wasn't enough to disgust me, but it's definitely note worthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Le Mars, IA

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We definitely needed the break away from our busy lives. This was the perfect place for us to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Convenient to vail village

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast and staff.
Cons: Put AC in rooms and ventilation in bathrooms.
Location: Nice shopping but not price friendly. Surrounding area offers fun things and beautiful sights. I liked Minturn better than any.
Nice area. Wonderful staff. Not for the frugal. Overpriced shops and restaurants. LaCantina is great at great prices. Temperature controls in room could be better. Warm in room, but cool when weathers cooler. Breakfast and restaurant staff were phenomenal.
5 out of 5
by Nathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel, convenient location, friendly staff

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Room cleanliness and size, large bathroom, heated floors, location, price, gym, great staff.
Cons: Improve breakfast menu or not offer it at all.
Location: A lot to do, skiing, snowboarding, hiking, restaurants, bike rentals, shopping.
First of all, I love Vail so I am automatically in a good mood every time I visit. I was pleasantly surprised by Vail Mountain Lodge for 99% of things. The location is great, it is in a quieter section of Vail Village, with quick access to parking and the village itself (which close to the restaurants, shopping and the gondolas). The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was humongous with heated floors. I was really impressed by the gym. I think it is by far the best hotel gym I have come across and I travel a fair amount (domestic and internationally) and not that easily impressed (aka expect high level or service while being reasonable). One thing that was disappointing was the breakfast. I understand it is an added perk that is offered by the hotel, not many hotels offered free breakfast. However, I think the hotel set the bar too high to 'admittedly' disappoint on a such small thing like breakfast. One of the hotel staff member herself told me the breakfast is a disappointing feature of the whole experience for the guests. I suggest either eliminating or significantly improving the breakfast menu. Overall, I loved staying at VML and would come back to stay as long as I don't own a place in Vail. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Best Aerie Ever for Australian Based Travellers

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The caring staff, the fireplace in the room, the most comfortable bed you can find, the best restaurant in a hotel, the spa & gym, the mountains.
Cons: We found it perfect. Perhaps fresh oatmeal could be a breakfast option. Can't complain about anything here.
Location: Ha-ha, it's Vail- hiking, skiing, zip-lining, very fine dining, shopping, many options for fitness experiences or just chilling out. KEEP HYDRATED!
Our cross-country drive continued and we arrived at nightfall from Santa Fe, pretty tired. The young lady at the check-in desk immediately sprang into action, carrying our heavy bags inside and assisting in getting us a place to park nearby, for free. What a nice surprise to find that our room was very spacious and had its own comfy reading nook with, of all things, a FIREPLACE that you could program to run for up to an hour. And a little balcony that looks up to a stunning hillside replete with the changing colours of this fall season. The king bed was the most comfortable so far and had an abundance of pillows and the safe will easily accomodate a laptop and iPad. With only a few minutes remaining until the kitchen closed, we had dinner in the Lodge's restaurant, which turned out to be recommended by the NY Times and featured a pretty healthy menu. We love trying different dining experiences, but it was so good we ate there both nights. Brekkie is included and was quite good. The gym facilities are exquisite and if you're game, includes a rock-climbing wall and a multitude of workout/spa options. We spent part of a very cool late afternoon in their warm and bubbling outdoor hot tub and just falling in love with all of it. All the staff were just the best! After nearly two weeks of travel from LA, Grand Canyon, etc., this place reigns supreme and I just can't see how other lodges, at 3 or 4 times the cost, can be any better. Vail Mountain Lodge rocks!!
5 out of 5
by Keeley

Rainy Day Made Great!

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very rainy day in Vail, but the cozy and rustic nature of this hotel made the day perfect! The fireplace in the room was a huge perk. The bed was incredibly comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel! We did not get to use the Spa due to timing, but it looked absolutely beautiful and very clean.