Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Raymond

Nice

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Out of all the hotels we stayed in Italy this one was in the top 2.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville FL USA

Very good place

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The manager and the crew is really amazing,service and quality all GOOD
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Clean hotel in a quiet area just outside of San Gimignano (10 min car drive). Decent breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Updating the website and co-ordinating this with the room profiles
Location: Fabulous spot and we walked in to Portofino which is 5.4km - not for the faint hearted as it is a little hilly close to Portofino
The hotel was pleasant but the Deluxe room turned out to be a standard room and, whilst we were refunded the difference, we had to find this out ourselves and seek the refund which was gladly given but spoilt the stay. When we compare the stay to other places we have been in Italy, its probably our least favourite but generally ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Luca, Hotel Management
we are sorry but our hotel is in Castel san Gimignano no in Portofino. My be there is a mistake
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

A lovely little find!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed here for a week's holiday in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had a room in the Annex to the hotel right next to the pool, however we weren't disturbed by the pool as it was fairly small and we only saw adults in it. The pool was clean and well maintained, with sun loungers surrounding it. Our room was comfortable, had aircon, tea-making facilities, a fridge, a great shower, plenty of clothes storage and was cleaned every day. The buffet breakfast in the hotel was excellent: tea, coffee, juices, cereals, breads, cakes, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, fruits, yogurt, and all sorts of jams and accompaniments. They even had decaf coffee for us odd sorts :-) There is one restaurant within walking distance which is good, very welcoming, but not cheap. We found a few other restaurants within a short drive that were good value with good food, Il Monte pizzeria great for pizza, pasta or something more exotic like wild boar cooked in chocolate (amazing!), La Locanda del Borgo with a great set menu and Fattoria di Mugnano - the hotel kindly gave us a list of places to eat nearby, which was helpful. Castel san Gimignano isn't really waking distance of anywhere so you need a car, but a great base to experience Tuscany from.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and good location for visiting Toscany

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient and good location for visiting Toscany by car .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Beautiful hotel, location, staff

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful, breakfasts were great, and the whole experience was relaxing and idylic.
Cons: Not a thing...
We loved everything about our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore tuscany and use it as their base. We visited Volterra, San Giminiano, Siena and Florence, all easily driveable.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Atlanta

Great value & wonderful breakfast in Tuscany

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Le Volpaie was perfect for our stay in Tuscany. Our room was good size with a lovely balcony overlooking the hills. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast offered a wide selection. This hotel was a great value and centrally located to places we visited around Tuscany. You'll want a car if staying here, as it's a very small town without much in the way of sightseeing or dining; 20 min drive to San Gimignano; other towns are within a 30 min drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel in small town with amazing views.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location, price, and Quaintness.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Location is in a small town, with amenities, gave amazing views, quiet and not typical tourist spot, so gave you the culture of the area.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. You do need a vehicle as it is away in the country side and easier to get to by car. Breakfast was great, Hotel staff were kind, accommodating, and helpful with suggestions. Rooms weren't fancy, but were clean, comfortable, quiet and a place to lay our head. good location for day trips to Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano, Voltere, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mark.

Ok-very clean but some issues.

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Orbitz
First the pros. GREAt breakfast and very clean room. Now the Cons. Husband is grumpy and it seems that Sometimes guests are a burden. ACs are weak and not the best view. My son and I took a walk down the valley near the hotel and though beautiful, found a major sewage leak causing a stream of sewage and awful smell at the bottom of the valley. Occasionally there would be wafts reaching the hotel. Obviously this is nothing they can control. Nice pool! Mixed review.