Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Idyllic setting in extensive grounds

Posted Oct 27, 2017
We stayed for a week in this lovely hotel which is just 3 miles south of San Gimignano. The hotel has a free minibus service to the historic town. The grounds are extensive and well maintained and there are fabulous views all around. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable. Everything in the hotel is nicely maintained and is ‘good 3 star’. I am sure we will return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse , Hotel Management
We thank you for your comment. We are very happy you spent a nice stay in our Hotel. Our Hotel is actually situated in a very strategic position to visit the Tuscany region. Yes, we are glad to offer a free shuttle service to San Gimignano and back ( twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon), to avoid to our guests the stress of finding a free car parking . Hoping to have you back some time in the future. Kindest regards, Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice stay

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pleasant stay. Comfortable and quiet. Nice pool with plenty of beds. Breakfast good. Only gripe was the gardeners staying with the leaf blowers etc at 8am on a sat. Otherwise lovely stay. Good base for visiting various places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Famiglia Niccolini & Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing us and for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and apreciated all our services such a park with pool and breakfast. We are sorry that the lawnmowers bothered you in the morning, but having a garden as big as ours, the most detailed care is required. We are glad that you had the chance to visit many places around, thanks to the central position of the hotel, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again, Kindest Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A wonderful setting in a beautiful country

Posted Sep 4, 2017
A great welcome, breakfast and dinners very good, lots of outside dining, Enjoyed private garden patio.Free Shuttle to San Gim very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Famiglia Niccolini & Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated all our services such as breakfast and dinners and our outdoor areas and free weekly shuttle service to San Gimignano Our Kindest Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Quiet area of Tuscany. Nice pool and outdoor area.

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on CheapTickets
Good area to relax. Very pretty Tuscan villa. Good restaurant but a bit far from other Tuscan villages.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Famiglia Niccolini & Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and for being our guest, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to relax, We are also glad you liked our traditional restaurant. Thank you again, Kindest Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Relaxing and refreshing day.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Pool, first floor room with patio, laundry, and restaurant that was very romantic.
Cons: A more comfortable chair.
Location: Old town was spectacular. Vineyards nearby.
We came in late at night but had a reservation for the restaurant, which was wonderful. Great pool to cool off in and having laundry facilities for the guests was a blessing that we most appreciated. Nice grounds to hike around on, and very close to the wonderful old town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Famiglia Niccolini & Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and for appreciating our services, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the compliments to our location, perfect to relax and to our position, perfect to travel around! Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant, we are glad you enjoyed our traditional cusine! Hoping to have you again as our guests, we wish you Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bulgaria

A great hotel in the country near a tourist pearl

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: Great location, see above.
Hotel is great, perfectly maintained. It is situated in the countryside, but only a few minutes drive from San Gimignano which we would call a touristic pearl. Half of the rooms have sort of a private yard with grass, table, sunbeds. Staff is professional. We felt really comfy, enjoyed our stay a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Famiglia Niccolini & Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review and for being our guest, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated all our services. The hotel's position is indeed perfect to visit San Gimignano and to relax in the countryside, also in our rooms with private terrace,perfect to enjoy a drink in the evening and to sunbathe. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, for us is very important. Hoping to have you as our guest again, we wish you Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

Great experience, beautiful place

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The pool, the food and the staff
Cons: Nothing
We enjoyed our stay, the staff was great, good food, wonderful pool. Shuttle to take us to San Gimignano. Over experience wonderful, would go back anytime
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Anna Maria, booking department, Hotel Management
Dear Madame, Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and wish to come back, we would be honored to welcome you again! Thank you so much for your compliments to our park and pool, perfect to relax, our traditional restaurant, our free shuttle service to San Gimignano but most expecially to our staff, always at disposal for any request. Hoping to have you again as our guest, we wish you Kindest Regards
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with beautiful view and a good restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Annamaria, Hotel Management
Dear Madame, Thank you very much for your review and for your compliments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated our services such as the traditional restaurant. Kindest Regards Famiglia Niccolini & Staff
5 out of 5
by eyal

Good stay

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Good location and comfort room
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

Excellent staff and vegan options.

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Though the room was spartan by North American standards, the bed was very comfortable. The staff was excellent, very helpful. The restaurant offered vegan options - a first for us in Italy! Gorgeous surroundings. Hilly, but a good place for a morning run. I would go back in a flash! Google Maps misdirected us to a neighbouring winery where the staff was so sweet and helpful, we went back for a wine tasting. What a lovely experience all around!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Annamaria, Hotel Management
Dear Madame, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to come back. We of course would be glad to have you again as our guest. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, the most important thing for us is to make the guests feel like at home and therefore we suggest the best places to go in order to grant our guests an unforgettable journey in Tuscany. Thank you also for your words about the restaurant, we offer indeed vegan options, as well as vegetarian and gluten free options, so that all our guests can enjoy a traditional tuscan meal, according to their needs. We hope to welcome you again whethe you have the chance to visit Tuscany again! Kindest Regards Famiglia Niccolini & Staff Hotel Casolare Le Terre Rosse