Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Noel

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
While the area is very beautiful it was very disappointing to find all around closed at this time of year
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel in good location

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff were all really nice and helpful, the breakfast was yummy and it was a good location for exploring surrounding towns in Tuscany. Only down side is there was a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms, and the water pipes made a loud whistling noise when somebody used the bathroom which was sometimes the middle of the night.
3 out of 5
by jerzy from LA

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Outdated...
4 out of 5
by Dana from Tel Aviv

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, very good breakfast very clean, perfectly located. But -I had an accident slipping in shower. It's extremely dangerous, luckily, in my case, it ended only in a few bruises, but could have gone much worse. The hotel staff promised me they will do the required changes to make it safer. I hope it the case.
4 out of 5
by Trbojevic from Belgrade

Good hotel at the good place

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
A room was very nice and spacious, staff friendly, breakfast tastefull. There is parking with enough space. Hotel is well situated, close to the elevator to the old city.
4 out of 5
by les from ireland

excellent hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels
Very good hotel. Excellent location and breakfast
4 out of 5
by Barbara from USA

Close to bus stop for touring other cities nearby.

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels
Small, very clean room. Our only complaint was that the room was a little warm at night, but the desk personnel said that they had shut off the air conditioning to the entire hotel because "the nights are cool." So we opened a window and dealt with it. Desk personnel were very friendly and accommodating. We came from Siena; the bus stop was only a short walk away, very convenient for visiting other towns like Volterra or San Gimignano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachael from Sunderland, U.K.

Great base for touring Tuscany

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: The staff were great. Breakfast was good with a wide selection of goodies to choose from. Comfy room. Good location for touring Tuscany.
Cons: The fridge in the room could have been colder. The tv had no channels in English - although I did manage to improve my Italian!
Location: Siena is a must! San Gimignano was a good half day with several great gelateria. Volterra worth a trip too. Plenty to find just driving about too.
We had a great holiday based at "the old paper mill", whizzing around Tuscany in Florence (our hired Fiat 500 who did sterling work up and down and around the hills and winding roads). Colle is a good base if you prefer to stay in "real" Italy, and is close enough to the touristy bits (Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra etc) for days out. The hotel staff are great - friendly and helpful, and they didn't laugh at my amateur Italiano! Our room was clean and comfy with a lovely view of the old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Toronto, ON

Top notch lodging in heart of Tuscany

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: The friendliness and the smalltown feel of the place.
Cons: Safe and WIFI access in the room.
Location: In the heart of Tuscany. Siena is 20 minutes one way. San Gemigniano is 20 minutes the other. Great location and friendly safe town .
The rooms are large and have these great shutter windows(leftover from the old factory). The customer service was exceptional. Great free WIFI in the lobby and outside in the square. Breakfast with cappuccino to order in a nice dining room hit the spot. The air conditioning wasn't very strong and there was no safe in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel la vecciol charateria

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: See above.
Hotel was somewhat hard to find but well marked with directional signs in the area. Great breakfast and near elevator to upper old town & nearby restaurants. Also has free parking lot within 150 meters.