Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wonderful Hotel and Location

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast and staff friendliness
Cons: Bed was a little hard
Location: Very central location positioned right in the middle of the , Piazza della Cisterna
Staff are so courteous and polite. They go out of their way to accommodate you. One of our favorite hotels and the only place we will stay in San Gimminiano. Excellent customer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Awesome location in center of things

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Staff was helpful; it was very clean and in a perfect location.
Cons: The tv was super small.
Location: It is a magical place. There is history, shopping and tons of places to sample Tuscany's culture & gastronomical delights.
This hotel is centrally located. Once the crowds leave it is totally charming & quiet. There is a breakfast area (in/out) but no actual restaurant in the hotel. Not to worry - there are plenty around. Clean and well kept. Highly recommend it. One thing of note - there is city tax - which must be paid in cash. That was probably in our documentation - but be sure to hold out some Euro - no credit cards accepted for that. Staff speaks passable English and was patient with our marginal Italian.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor MI

First visit to San Gimignano

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Loved the central location, room size and comfort
Cons: Maybe a brief history of the building, in English?
Location: Cooking class and wine tasting at nearby winery
It is an adventure driving yourself from Florence, to get to San Gimignano but it's worth it. The vineyards in the rolling countryside lead you to this charming town. Although you can try to drive your way into the walled city to Hotel Leon Bianco, you can only drop off your bags and then park in one of the exterior public parking lots overnight. After figuring out the road layout and parking lots, we decided to carry in just what we needed for the night (we just stayed 1 night) and leave our large luggage in the car. Our room (#15) was on the first floor just above the lobby, overlooking the Piazza Cisterna. Couldn't ask for a better view! Central to everything in town. The room was rather large by most Italian hotel rooms we stayed in, with a king size bed. Their breakfast room included a roof terrace with morning sunshine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful locations

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Excellent hotel with large beautiful rooms, nice bath, views and inside the walls. Great breakfast on the terrace! Wonderful staff! A great place to stay in a magical town. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Niece hotel great location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
We love the location of the hotel for one night staying in San Gimignano, the room and bathroom were okay nothing special but a great view. Breakfast is okay but could be improved, coffee was not good at all, according to what we found in all the other hotels we stayed in Italy.
5 out of 5
by Helen

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very helpful and location is wonderful!
5 out of 5
by Thammanoon

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing room with the view of Tuscany hills.
5 out of 5
by timothy

Great visit

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed 3 days, had view of the countryside then changed rooms to view of the main square, Best hotel in town, easywalk to everything, restaurant just out the front door. Room was good size, plenty of hot water, English on television, breakfast was good, boiled eggs, ham , cheese, bread coffee, I would stay again, just a great hotel and village to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017
Dear Timothy, thank you very much for your beautiful review, we hope to welcome you soon in our Hotel. Kind regards from our family and from our staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing location with history yet modern amenities, awesome breakfast, front desk knowledgeable about the area. Shower had a leak, and while amusing, water kept spraying everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your precious comment! Hope to welcome you again to the Hotel Leon Bianco! Kind regards. Paola
5 out of 5
by Paul

Great location.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Superb location. Great breakfast and the staff are awesome. I would definitely stay here again.