Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Anneliese

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at il Vicario for two nights. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We had an apartment with a separate kitchenette, living and dining area. The view of the Tuscan region is marvelous. Breakfast was served every morning, with a traditional Italian fare of salami, cheese, melons etc. Very quiet, recommend it for couples, families as well as friends traveling together.
5 out of 5
by Karyl andolina

Fantastic taste of Tuscany

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodations were very nice. The room was spacious, clean, and quaint. It was quiet and had an excellent air-conditioning and heating system. The location was perfect being 15 min San Gimignano. Fulvio and Katia were outstanding hosts. They offered wine upon arrival, itineraries for local visits, and suggestions for restaurants. Fulvio had a great sense of humor. Katia's cooking class was fun and delicious. The truffle hunt they helped arrange was amazing. The entire experience really gave you a feeling for the region of Tuscany. We highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

What a wonderful stay at Il Vicario!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The sense of history, charm and the wonderful hospitality of the hosts!
Location: Great location - 10 minutes from San Gimignano and a great home base for exploring Tuscany...
We absolutely loved it here. My guy and I were celebrating our anniversary as well as my birthday and we chose Il Vicario as a home base. From the moment we stepped foot on the property, we knew we were in for a treat. We preferred a sunny room versus a private room and Katia was so gracious and immediately made the switch. She then proceeded us to pour us a welcomed glass of wine and some wonderful bruschetta...we met Fulvio the next morning and he was our "go to" guide for the rest of the week. He seemed to pick up quickly what we would like and all his choices were spot on. The room itself was clean and spacious and you could really feel the history of this 14th century home...We also enjoyed a home cooked meal one night with Fulvio cooking as well as a highly spirited cooking class with friends are last night...let's just say that Katia had the patience of a saint...I would highly recommend this lovely place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfection in Tuscany

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
When I looked out my window - I saw exactly what I imagined Tuscany to look like. Rolling hills, vineyards, olive trees. The walked city of San Giginano was beautiful and full of ancient buildings. The cooking class with Katia was fabulous - one of the highlights of our trip. DELICIOUS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, U.K

Couldn't ask for nicer welcome, great location.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Great location, informal and convenient. Very quiet and peaceful, with easy parking outside.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: San Gimignano is 5 minutes drive. Sienna and to Florence. Also Chianti region.
Flavio the proprietor and Katia were very warm and friendly with exceptional knowledge of the Tuscany region. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome. Many thanks to you Flavio and Katia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

We booked two nights and two cooking classes.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Small and intimat relaxing environnment, felt like family.
Location: Visit the city San Gimignano
The B&B was just great the two cooking classes with Katia were fun and the experience was above expectation.
5 out of 5
by Iris

San Gimignano

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Franca, mother of Katia and sister of Falvio is a delightful lady who communicates well even though she speaks no English. She really made are arrival memorable. Fulvio and Katia are so accommodating and hard working. I enjoyed the cooking class with Katia which was scheduled last minute and Fulvio made sure that all are needs were met each day. He gave us suggestions for sightseeing and made us feel like family.
4 out of 5
by edward from Milton Keynes

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were travelling around Tuscany and booked this hotel in advance. Had we known jow nice it would be before our itinerary was agreed, we would have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Amazing Tuscany!

Posted Sep 28, 2015
The B&B is very charming, wonderfully decorated and Katia is so welcoming. We took a cooking class from Fulvio that was so much fun! We learned a lot and were surprised that we could master some Tuscan recipes. Fulvio made us laugh and feel like family as we were cooking in his kitchen. I highly recommend both the cooking class and the B&B. You won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful agriturismo B&B in the heart of Toscana!

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything! Our room was great, the hosts (Fulvio and Katia) were friendly and funny, and the food we cooked was delicious!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: As mentioned previously, the location is great. Stunning views, and close to cities such as Siena and San Gimignano.
My wife and I had a marvelous time at Il Vicario! Fulvio and Katia are great hosts. We loved our room that had a poster bed and we had the best sleep of our trip because it was so dark and quiet at night. The cooking class we received from them was interesting, fun, interactive and delicious =) Il Vicario is located in the heart of Tuscany, amongst the rolling hills of olive plantations and wine vineyards. The views are absolutely stunning.