Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Repeat stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Just ss good now as it was 8 years ago. If we return we will stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by alessandra, Hotel Management
Thank you very much la mandragola staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect Location for Visiting San Gimignano

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Terrace access! It allows a 360 view of the city. Perfect to end the night with.
Location: Quite location as it is towards the back of the city - away from all the central tourist points.
They have private parking space that's just few mins away from the hotel (back side of the city wall). The staff was extremely helpful. The hotel partner with locals to offer the private parking space, so the location was difficult to pinpoint. When I called them, the staff was very patient at describing the location. I was dumb and couldn't find it, but the staff offered to meet us outside of the city to take us to the parking location! And, he even helped with our luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by alessandra, Hotel Management
thank you very much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pwllheli

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Wouldn't fault it. Would have liked a proper map to thee free car park. It was a little difficult to find with the instructions given verbally. The room was very nice and clean and smelt of roses which was the name of the room. Thank you for a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by Caroline from North Yorkshire

Great find in San Gimignano

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at la Mandragola! Our room (one of four) was fab, with air con, great bathroom with shower, comfy bed and beautiful decoration. The quiet location just 2 minutes from the main square in San san Gimignano meant we had a relaxing stay. The restaurant on site was really nice and the staff were lovely, and a lovely breakfast with delicious croissants and coffee is provided daily. There is a lovely seating area that guests could use in the garden and also on the top of the roof there's a fab rooftop terrace giving 360 panoramic views! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we visited San Gimignano again. As it is a restaurant with rooms there isn't a reception, so bear that in mind when you arrive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

A song to ancient and modern

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: From the initial welcome we liked the staff, the room and facilities, the location and the food - guests get a special discount on dinner.
Cons: The sun shines brightly on the wall outside the hotel which makes the glass exit door almost invisible. My wife walked in to it and bumped her head.
Location: Perfect location in the ancient city of San Gimignano.
It is a family run hotel and restaurant with a happy and helpful staff, especially Andrea whose english is far better than he thinks. It was a challenge finding the hotel and took almost an hour in the warm Italian rain. Apparently you can drive in to San G and park for twenty minutes but we didn't know so had to trundle our luggage from outside the walls. We were given the Rosa room and initially thought we had been given the bridal suite - we were going to a wedding in San G. not getting married. The gelato (ice cream) and pizza along with the ancient buildings, the Duomo, the museums, the town and the panoramic views, not necessarily in that order, are probably the finest in Italy - but then they have other places like Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK

Superb hotel with stunning garden & terrace

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Clean & nicely decorated room with great outside space
Location: Fantastic central location
The hotel was in a great location with gorgeous garden and roof top terrace (rarity in San Gimignano) overlooking the town superb for a quiet evening drink. The room was very comfy and clean with a cleaner visiting the room daily, nice modern shower and great views over the garden from our room, breakfast was perfect and fresh each morning, I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel and we will visit again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a soul!

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: The location and the garden
Excellent place, one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at. So different from soulless chain hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Manchester, UK

Excellent small Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2012
Pros: Situation and lovely garden
Cons: Nothing
Location: One street back from the main street.Up quite a steep hill.
Lovely small Hotel on a quiet back street.Very well maintained with delightful small garden to rear.Bedrooms well equipped with toiletries and a small bar. Staff helpful but didn't offer any assistance with luggage .Breakfast choice excellent. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
by S & Z Hoeppner

Lovely Guesthouse in an enchanting town !

Posted Sep 10, 2012 on Hotels
Lovely room in a beautiful and well maintained guesthouse. The receptionest / managress was particularly helpful and friendly. The guesthouse was 5 mins walk from almost everything you might want to see and do in San Gimignano. A beautiful town with very friendly people. Will return next time without any hesitation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

La Mandragola Locanda - A Hidden Delight

Posted Apr 12, 2011 on Hotels
Great location and superb accommodation, within the atmospheric village. Can't say too much, just go, you will not be disappointed.