Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Fantastic hotel with a stunning spa

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We stayed for one night on our way from Pisa airport to Montalcino. We were a family of four and were lucky to be upgraded to a fabulous two bedroomed suite. Staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and polite and our stay was wonderful. The spa is amazing and we only wished we had been staying longer to make the most of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New England

Very nice hotel within castle walls

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Parking. There is no on-street parking readily available and you have to park your car around the corner out of sight of the hotel in an unsecured lot
Location: The location was remote. There is a restaurant next door atop the nearby castle walls with a great view but it declined to serve us drinks only
Selected the hotel online as the location was near a family wedding in a small town nearby. It was a great experience. It is very nice inside and the staff is very helpful. Buffet breakfast was included in the price and had some variety. Unfortunately, the hotel charges 20 Euro per person for access to the pool/spa.
5 out of 5
by Mikhal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location for walking.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Nice relaxing location after a very busy Florence visit, also good stop over for Pisa airport:)
5 out of 5
by Costin-Bogdan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Beautiful and Quiet

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: We loved how quiet the hotel was at night. We slept with our windows open- so quiet- no street noise! The restaurant was fantastic- food and service.
Location: The town is close to Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, and Montereggioni and 1 1/2 hours from Florence,
We spent 2 nights at the San Lorenzo because of its location. We were interested in touring the hill towns of Tuscany and Colle Alta was a great location. The ancient town atop a hill is charming. Our first evening we walked its length, stopping for photos along the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Handicapped railings in spa for older or disabled guests
Location: Great church S. Catarina near by the Romanian priest Father George that says mass at 6 pm.
Great location- very helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast was fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Cons: Staff should be at desk and not sitting in the back the whole time taking their time to help out. Breakfast was so-so compared to other hotels.
Lovely hotel, nice room, middling breakfast, decent staff, great location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in the middle of Tuscany.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
An amazing hotel inside a piece of history.