Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel and good location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Hotel was clean and in a good location. The staff were very good but often not there. Even breakfast was late as the guy has not turned up. When the breakfast arrived it was very good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Hitel Altitude is perfectly located for access to all slopes and lifts in Val D'isere; access to all lifts within 100 metres. Ski in/out possible, although limited in spring conditions. You are a 7/8 minute walk from the main strip but there are bars and restaurants closer than this. Parking is not onsite but in a nearby underground site which is reasonably priced, convenient and secure; you don't need a car whilst in Val D'isere as free shuttle buses run very frequently and stop near to the hotel (Rond Point des Pistes). The hotel itself is tired in places and the sound proofing throughout is a bit suspect. We asked to swap rooms after a few days, the staff being more than happy to help. Breakfast served 7-10 was always good although a bit more variety and some cooked options would have been welcomed. Ski room is decent, with lockers and a wall of heated boot racks. Wifi worked well and was quite quick wherever I tried. As mentioned above, the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful; I couldn't fault them, they were excellent. All in all I would say 3 stars for the hotel is about right but that the location is ideal for access to Val's slopes. Given that's exactly why we picked Hotel Altitude I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others; I would happily go back myself. My only comment would be to pack ear plugs of you're not an early riser.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West

Perfectly placed for ski in and out

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Wonderful warm welcome from Nicholas, the owner. Super, simply decorated rooms (some with lovely views over the bottom of the slopes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria UK

Traditional hotel in an excellent location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff; location; traditional; warm and comfortable.
Cons: A pre-order multi-choice of dinner menu rather than a set menu with no choice. Out door poor open in winter.
Enjoyable 4 day ski break with friends. Staff were welcoming and provided excellent service. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Bedroom / bathroom was adequate; bar and lounge area were really cosy with real fires; restaurant was traditional. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Mark from london

very nice hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
hotel altitude was a great landing point for val d'isere. Awesome room, ski right onto the slopes and close to all the night life. Breakfast in the morning is basic but very good but the hotel service is what set it apart in my mind and will be the reason i return. The owner is very involved in the day to day of the hotel and the staff were super helpful in everything from getting us lift tickets, to arranging taxis back to bourg, to putting up with our poor french. They even let us take a shower after our last day of skiing which was really refreshing and im sure appreciated by our fellow train riders back to paris. All in all, excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pete from Arlingont, VA, USA

Great place close to lifts

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Convenience of location, and excellent food. Given the location, the cost was reasonable.
Cons: Could use better (stronger) lighting in the room.
Location: Phenomenal skiing!
Hotel Altitude is a an excellent three-star lodging with great continental breakfast and a really good restaurant for an evening meal. The hotel is directly across from Val d'Isere's Olympic gondola lift and close to the Solaise bubble chair lift. It is an easy 5-to-10-minute walk to town centre. Staff was very nice and helpful. The room was small but nice, with an excellent remodeled bath.
5 out of 5
by cedric from Switzerland

Perfect deal for a family stay

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels
Nothing less or more than expected. Good 3*. Nice and warm welcome, helpful staff. Very clean. Great location right on the slopes and 5 minutes from the center of Val d'Isère.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Boston

Ski in ski out

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels
We recently visited Val d'Isere for a week long ski trip. We loved the town of Val d'Isere and the fact that our hotel was ski in, ski out, in addition to being within walking distance of all the restaurants in town. The included breakfast every morning was perfect for our skiing energy needs. We were less impressed with skiing on Val d'Isere and spent the majority of our time skiing Tignes. However, the town of Val d'Isere was much nicer than Tignes and the hotel was so close to the Gondola needed to reach Tignes, that we were glad we stayed at Hotel Altitude. Nicolas was awesome and was very helpful for making restaurant reservations and figuring out the town. I highly recommend Hotel Altitude and Val d'Isere as a home base for a ski trip. We will definitely be back.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Great ski in ski out location

Posted Mar 12, 2013 on Hotels
3rd year in a row staying here. Staff in dining room very friendly. Great location as genuine ski in ski out but need to be quite nimble and aware walking across the slopes to get to town. Maintenance is our issue here. We had the same room as 3 years ago and only the sheets and towels seemed to have been changed and its starting to look a bit tired. The gutters above the balconies still leaked for instance. Hence now it's somewhat over priced for the general standard.