Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jason

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and decor
4 out of 5
by Peter from Romsey near Southampton, UK

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant friendly hotel, good food and great access to ski-lifts, very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

ideal for short stay

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: easy access to slopes
whole hotel is very well presented - from the reception to the boot room, from the room to the bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value , warm and welcoming

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Central location , good size comfortable rooms , plenty of hot water and freindly staff
Cons: A bit more choice at breakfast
Location: Central Val D'Isere , easy to get onto the slopes
This hotel is centarlly located , warm comfortable and welcoming .It offers everything you'd expect at good value in a resort where its competitors can be pricey and aren't always worth the extra for another star . The Kandahar refurb has created a comfortable bar and lounge with a nice mix of old and new alpine wood and stone .The bedrooms are big enough , well cared for , have pleasant if not stylish decor and have plenty of storage for ski clothes . The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is basic but with good French bread and patisserie and cold meats - maybe a bit more fresh cheese , a wider choice of fruit and cereals would add . The connected Taverne D'Alsace is a good choice for dinner , with a broad regional menu , lively informal atmosphere and offering good value in a resort where the food is genrally pricey . Other facilities like the bootroom are kept clean and tidy .WiFi is free . The staff are all very friendly and helpful with advice . We'll be going back If you don't wnat to pay the steep extras in some other hotels of a spa or pool I'd strongly recommend We'll be using the Kandahar again
3 out of 5
by DREW from London

Excellent restaurant..otherwise disappointing...

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
Restaurant/ dinner was the hotel's strongest point - excellent & varied food on the 'demi-pension' menu...however breakfast VERY disappointing as no hot food was available other than grudgingly prepared (1 per person) boiled, scrambled or fried (but not poached) egg ; Hotel owner extremely affable/ friendly but service otherwise lacking due to low staff numbers (& experience); Room clean/comfortable but way too small for a family of 4...room decor also very disappointing given the excellent refurb in reception and bar areas;
5 out of 5
by Nicholas from Leicester

A perfect base to enjoy the resort

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is well positioned in the centre of the village, close to shops and restaurants, but with easy access to the slopes. Our room, on the 3rd floor, was clean and comfortably furnished in a traditional Savoie style with plenty of storage space (compared to similar hotels we have stayed in). The reception, bar and ski/boot room areas on the ground floor had been recently renovated to give a more contemporary but relaxing feel. We stayed on a B&B basis having a continental style buffet breakfast, with a wide range of choices, being available in the bar area each morning. In addition to the clean and comfortable surroundings an important ingredient for us was the staff, who were always helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. The hotel provides very good value for money and we are hoping to go back again next year.
4 out of 5
by Bob from Toronto, Canada

Supportive staff

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels
Great restaurant in the "basement," friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable beds, a great steam and sauna for the end-of-day close to our room on the 4th floor, and a few steps away from the bus terminal. Unavoidable was the noise from the young drunken revelers on the street at 2am. And the room was a bit strange: under the rafters on the top floor -- the ceiling over half the room is about 1.5 metres. Still, a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Hertfordshire

Comfortable hotel close to the ski lifts

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a nice and relaxed ambiance.
Cons: it is fine as it is.
Location: it is in a great location adjacent to all the shops and restaurants and only 150 meters from the ski centre.
We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was typically french sized, i.e.. small , but large enough for a very comfortable double bed and separate bathroom and toilet. It was very clean and nicely presented. A self service breakfast was served in the first floor dining room which had a nice ambience with a good choice of bread and cereals, fresh juices, fruit plus eggs to boil but limited on cheese and meats. Coffee was fine albeit out of a machine. There was a nice log fire to sit beside in the evenings and have drinks. There was a very convenient ski locker room on the ground floor and underground parking which was very tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

traditional hotel with lovely dining and sitting

Posted Apr 17, 2014
comfortable and friendly staff....very attentive and helpful. Right in the middle of town - bus to the slopes just outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Hampshire

Great hotel right in the middle of town.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Location: Location is perfect. Situated directly in the middle of town between two ski areas and central for restaurants and bars.
This hotel provided all the components for a great stay. Staff throughout the hotel were efficient and very helpful. Our rooms were exactly as advertised, comfortable, clean and well serviced. Breakfast was good and the hotel restaurant was enjoyable. We will definitely return to the Hotel Kandahar when we visit Val d'isere in the future.