Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Very Tuscan

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable, traditional Tuscan attic room with beautiful views. Only downside was the ineffective air conditioning unit. Staff were lovely
5 out of 5
by Angela

Charming B&B with a wonderful staff

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
This is a cute B&B in a cool historic building. The rooms have nice antique furniture and are spacious as is the bathroom. Pienza is a charming town with breathtaking views. The service we received at this hotel was outstanding. Carla called us the day we checked-in to inquire about our arrival time to make sure everything would be ready when we got there. She was friendly and helpful in providing information about the town and local restaurants. We were greeted the next morning with the most divine smelling fresh baked pastries prepared by Maria, who was both delightful and attentive. The entire staff made us feel at home. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Carla and Maria for a wonderful visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Location: Pienza (at least in the off-season) was a sleepy and quiet town-still enjoyed our visit. We took a day trip to Montepulciano and went wine tasting.
Room and bed were cozy. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious. Easy check-in and out. Free parking.
3 out of 5
by Ki Teak

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jo from Taunton, MA

Sweet home away from home in best location in Pien

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful stay in Pienza, beautiful easily walkable walled town with blue bus nearby just outside the old town, 5 minute walk. Sweet guesthouse amongst the rooftops, wonderfully appointed. But the best part was the wonderful hostess, Barbara, who made me feel most welcome and at home. Loved my stay. Gracias, Barbara
3 out of 5
by TEJASWI from Mumbai, India

Nice but only if you don't get the attic!

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
Let's be honest. Venice is an overly over-priced city. So even pigeon-holes mascarading as hotel rooms are going to expensive. And that's what we got at Pausania. I had specifically urged them that this was our honeymoon: make it special. They even responded in agreement. But what we got was a room in the attic. Yes it was clean and had a great bathroom - no way however to stand and bathe though as the roof over your head inclines to the base of the bathroom! That was the killer. And it's the same story in the room. So basically since its a true Venetian building you get that experience but its only HALF the experience. So: ensures have not booked the attic. We checked the other rooms. And they were gorgeous!! With lovely rooms that had gorgeously painted ceilings. Also senior citizens beware: no lifts. No bell boys. Loads to climb. So travel light
5 out of 5
by Philip from Brisbane

Charming little hotel in a fairytale hill town

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
What a charming little hotel in a fairytale hill town in Tuscany. The owner was a delightful lady who couldn't do enough to be more welcoming. Don't expect the comforts of a 5 star hotel. You come here for the charm of an attic room with exposed beams and leaning ceilings that follow the roof line, and the wonderful views of lush rolling Tuscan hills when you open the window.
4 out of 5
by Jen from London

Charming and enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
Really enjoyed my stay at Antica Locanda. Great location within the old town of Pienza. Very peaceful and quiet. Only 5 minutes away from free parking down. The host was a character, very bubbly and helpful, relaying all the important information for our stay. Despite having limited English we managed to communicate with a mixture of basic Italian and French. Breakfast is a basic DIY offering which you make up yourself in the room which has tea/coffee making facilities with some basic provisions provided. Comfortable room and had a good night's sleep here. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Incredible view from all windows.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
I cried when I first saw the views from our windows. Spacious, kitchen ready for making breakfast. Staff was accommodating. We fell in love with the lady of the house. Can't say enough good things about this place.
3 out of 5
by john from Idaho

location is great.

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: location
Location: it is a small town and one day is plenty unless you use it for a base for more of Tuscany
location is excellent for a stay in Pienza. do not take heavy luggage. lots of stairs to climb to get to the rooms. plan on haveing breakfast out, although the instant coffee in the room is great to get going with.