Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sorry, more frustrating than positive

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
I had read reviews and hotel advertising and seemed worth the additional cost so booked to stay here. I arrived early and found the location problematic because it's on a busy road and there is NO place to park a car. Not even an welcome entrance area so one doesn't know what to do. It meant driving back and forth a few times ending up parking in the gas station across the road. With this being already stressful to then arrive and the main doors locked! 11:30 am! I went to a Butcher next door who helped me and showed me a buzzer which rang a bell and eventually a staff member came down but said to come back later as staff had gone to the bank. By this time, with my car illegally parked I was getting more frustrated. The Butcher told me I could park in a parking area down the road. So I first got my luggage and crossed the busy road and left in hotel lobby. I'm mentioning this so one can be prepared and not go through what I went through. The hotel itself is okay. My room was pretty with a very nice bath but if you open the door /window to the small terrace it's noisy. Granted, at night it may not be but I was there in November and didn't open windows/doors. The hotel is a short walk to Pienza's historic area. The TV was on very early in the morning which I could hear the din in my first floor room. A young woman at reception was nice but a gentleman at reception was too busy on the phone to help me. My impression was overall poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Good location in a beautiful town, friendly staff excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
by Kathy from San Jose CA USA

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
The was very nice and welcoming. Our bagged was brought from our car and the proprietor scoped out a legal ace for us to park in. Overall very homey.
5 out of 5
by Gerald from Turlock, Ca

Fantastic Stay

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Family owned and very friendly. Went out of their way to help any way they could. WiFi was fantastic. Sort walk to the village with plenty of restaurants and beautiful views. Some parking across the street. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by David from San Diego CA

perfect base for exploring Tuscany

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
The folks at the Arca di Pienza are kind, friendly, and helpful, and they keep the place spotless. Great value, with a spacious room, really comfy bed, and a decent breakfast. Pienza is a must-see and we found it a nice base for exploring the region in day trips. Great location only a couple blocks outside the city walls. It would be 5-stars across the board from us had the AirCon been working correctly but we don't fault management since we didn't speak up.
3 out of 5
by Kathy Jones from Pienza, IT

Difficult check-in/-out location

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
Owner and manager are very friendly and helpful, but parking is nonexistent and access to the hotel for check in/out is an issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Arca di Pienze, in Pienza, Italy

Posted May 11, 2011 on Hotels
The new hotel is just outside the old city of Pienza. The hotel is family owned and operated. With just 8 rooms, it operates like a B&B. Upon arrival we discovered that the hotel has no private parking, nor any place to unload luggage except in the main road in front of the hotel. Public parking is available in two close-by lots. More on that later. Our room was OK but not special. Housekeeping was poor. The first day we had almost no TP left and no extra roll. The next day no bath mat was left. The third day, no new plastic cups were left in the room. Problems were fixed immediately upon request, but "reactive" housekeeping is not what the customer wants. Our room had a small patio with table and chairs. There was also a small grass area adjacent to the patio that had not been mowed this season. The grass and weeds were 1 - 2 feet high. We observed that other rooms were in the same condition. That said, there was also a rose bush in full bloom dividing each patio from the next. Very beautiful. The front of the hotel has a large patio that is very indifferently maintained and staged. The hotel faces a rather busy street and this patio is not particularly inviting.... nor is their any attempt to make it inviting. The help parks a motorcycle on the patio. "Grandpa", a very pleasant man who speaks no English, helps to cover the desk while the manager is occupied. He spends quite a bit of time watching the large screen TV in the lobby, at rather high volume. Like many Italian hotels, the WiFi only works in the lobby. The breakfasts were fully adequate but not luxurious. No hot dishes were served, but the cold food choices were fine and the coffee was excellent. The weekend we were in the hotel, Pienza had its annual flower market. The town was packed. Saturday night we were not able to find any parking near the hotel and had to get a spot several blocks away in a residential neighborhood. We cannot say whether it would be difficult to find parking close-in during the height of tourist season, when visitation would be higher than early May. Our overall impression is that this hotel is not making it financially, or the owners have lost interest in running a B&B, or both. Too many little things are going undone. It does not cost much to mow grass, or ask the help to park in the same public lots that the customers have to use. All in all, if we had to do it over again, we would spend more for something a bit more upscale. For travelers on a strict budget, this hotel should be considered in comparison to other hotels in the same price range in Pienza.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lo consiglio solo se trovate una buona offerta.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Buona posizione appena fuori dalle mura di Pienza. Non male la colazione.
Cons: Letto che cigolava ad ogni movimento molto fastidioso. La vista sul distributore dalla camera non è stata molto piacevole.
Albergo carino in buona posizione,ma il rapporto qualità prezzo, anche se era la notte di Pasqua non mi è sembrata ottima.Ad un prezzo inferiore il mio giudizio sarebbe stato un po' più alto sebbene il letto cigolante e la vista sul distributore avrebbero comunque influito. Quindi lo consiglio solo se trovate una buona tariffa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels