Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Overnight Stop

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Over night stop en route to UK
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dreadful experience.

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
This was a disastrous experience for us. Our room was in the middle of an extremely noisy wedding/family celebration which went on and on. When we asked for a change of room we were told there was nothing available. When we got up to leave, at 6.00 a.m, because we had not slept, there was no electricity or hot water so we had to get ourselves ready with the aid of an I phone torch. Reception told us there had been a problem the day before which clearly had not been fixed! No apology was offered. We will definitely not stay there again. Very poor for Mercure, which we thought had reasonable standards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelent for comfortable overnight stay

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Second overnight stay between Spain and Calais ferryport very convenient location with excelent service plus the breakfast was really first class hotel is a bit pricey at std tariff but a good saving on advance booking option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gozo,Malta

Can only recommend the rooms.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Good room ,convenient for Caen ferries, courage and attitude of the sole member of staff on duty.
Cons: See above.
After a long day travelling and looking forward to the first hot meal of the day, was given the bad news that restaurant was closed for the weekend. Was given a voucher for a restaurant close by which being part of a national chain did not provide the french/local cuisine I was so looking forward to. To make matters worse the receptionist ( who really tried her best) was the only member of staff around. She was so busy checking people in ,answering the phone and acting as the barmaid that obtaining prompt service to get a beer became a real challenge ! Although the rooms were pleasant and the over worked receptionist just about managed to keep on top of things, I cannot recommend this place . How can a proper hotel not offer food on a Friday evening ? What is the Mercure Hotel Group doing allowing this all to happen ? I tried to speak to the Manager but was told by reception that he would be absent until after the weekend. I am writing this whilst staying at the Mercure in Bourg en Bresse , what a difference. Plenty of staff,great room,and the restaurant is open with a great looking menu ! If you want a hotel with proper staffing levels, that offers food of a weekend, where you do not have to wait ten minutes for a beer and where management is available for customers to complain to , then do not stay at the Mercure ,Val de Reuil !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely welcome, great room, only reservation was the price of breakfast but we had a cheaper option at the LeClerc supermarket!
5 out of 5
by Sharon

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely staff very helpful and friendly .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Perfect stop for a night

Posted Aug 13, 2016
This was a very reasonable stop for a night driving south from the UK. Spacious room, friendly staff. The restaurant was closed but good facilities near by. The decor is dated, but the parking was fine, bed comfortable and helpful staff upon check in. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Good sized rooms. Comfortable bed and good breakfast. Easy to use WiFi.
Pity that the restaurant was closed (for a month) and one had to walk a couple of hundred yards in the rain to get dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south Muskham Newark

Good standard hotel very convenient to the motorwa

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Standard and breakfast
Cons: Limited supply in room of tea and milk etc had to request more
Location: Eat a wonderful meal at a restaurant in Vaudreull le bonjou
Easy check in comfortable room excellent breakfast