Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with view of Montepluciano

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We enjoyed our stay in the area - we found it a very central location, and it was interesting to stay in an old estate. We were warmly greeted by staff, and offered a lovely glass of prosecco. The rooms were big and with beautiful views of the grounds and neighbouring Montepluciano. The bed was uncomfortable and very hard. The fridge was not working but they didn't mention it until I brought it up and our food was spoiled. We had a nice dinner at the restaurant, and it felt very lavish. With this being said, my boyfriend found the staff to be pushy and was uncomfortable during almost every interaction. The breakfast that was included was lovely, however, by the last day we found that they were not providing the same amounts of meats and cheeses, or being offered yogurt. We wondered if it was because we didn't dine at the restaurant every night which felt like the expectation. Overall, the place was central to a lot of villages and we really enjoyed the area but I am not sure I would recommend staying there to a good friend. However, it might have been how we read the situation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

furnishings are tired

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: staff were good.
Cons: Old furnishings replaced, better bathroom, better tending of gardens. Better decor.
Needs some tender loving care and improvement of style.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great place to relax

Posted Jul 24, 2014
We spent 5 days at La Chiusa and really enjoyed our time there. It is a great location making it easy to explore the Tuscan region. La Chiusa staff are fantastic and always willing to help when required.
5 out of 5
by La Chiusa from Montefollonico, Italy

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels
Concierge, Luigi is wonderful can do anything. The view across the valley to Montepulciano is worth a special journey in itself. The restaurant is expensive , but a must do at least once. Great, more typical restaurants a few blocks away in little village of Montefollonico. Youre an hour from Montalcino, half hour from Abbey of Monte Oliveto Maggiore, half hour from Montipulciano, hour from Florence by autostrada. Siena is also close by car.
3 out of 5
by Leif

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel aconchegante

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Hotel aconchegante para quem irá conhecer a toscana. Comida maravilhosa e equipe atenciosa.
5 out of 5
by AAslaug

Fantastic to be back in Montefollonico and La Chiu

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Back after about 20 years. Only sorry that the restaurant was closed because that was one of the best we have been to. A bottle of vine from the chef, Dania to say sorry for that. Montefollonico is one of the most charming hill top towns in Tuscany
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

La Chiusa värt ett besök

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Trevlig ägare, och fantastisk mat på restaurangen. Utsikten från verandan och trädgården är helt otroligt vacker! Däremot var sängarna hårda. Vi hade nästan inget varmvatten i badrummet, så det gick inte att använda det stora mysiga badkaret.
3 out of 5
by Wolfie from Frankfurt

Ruhiges Landhaus mit Toskana-Ambiente

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Das Personal
Location: Ruhige Lage. Nach Pienza (Peccorino) oder Montepulciano (Wein). Oder einen 500m Spaziergang ins malerische Montefollonico; Restaurant La Botte Piena.
Ich war ein Wochenende im Mai 2014 im La Chiusa, und war wohl der einzige Hotelgast und einer von sehr wenigen Gästen im Restaurant am Samstagabend. Hervorzuheben ist das sehr freundliche und hilfsbereite Auftreten des Personals, die angenehme Größe meines Zimmers, sowie die schöne Lage des Hotels mit guten Ausflugsmöglichkeiten. Dafür nimmt man die individuelle, teilweise angejahrte und recht pragmatische Ausstattung des Zimmers, und den naturbelassenen Garten gerne in Kauf. Das Restaurant mit seinem offenen Kamin wirkt einladend, der Service ist sehr stilvoll und die Präsentation des Zwirbelns der Pici, einer toskanischen dicken Spaghettiart, an meinen Tisch war eindrucksvoll. Allerdings konnte die Qualität der Speisen die hohen Erwartungen nicht ganz erfüllen. Dafür ist die Preisgestaltung des Menüs sowie der umfangreichen Weinauswahl, doch recht ambitioniert. Das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis des La Chiusa im Hotel und Restaurant stimmt z.Zt. nicht. Vielleicht sollte man sich einmal die Arrangement-Angebote anschauen.
5 out of 5
by yukio take

beautiful

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels
beautiful location and food. トスカーナ地方の休日を満喫しました。