Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Family Farm stay

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful farm hotel in a great location in the countryside yet only a short ten minute walk to the town of Montepulciano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatineau, QC

Quiet hotel 15-min walk from city

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We had a lovely stay at Podere Fontecastello. The Fontecastello is a (steep) 15 minute walk from the edge of the city, very do-able. It allowed us to not have to take our car into the city. Staff was great, room very clean and breakfast was always nice to have. Keep in mind the breakfast in Italy is light - cookies, bread, jams and yogurt. Bed was not too comfortable for myself, but my husband liked the bed. There is no air conditioning, only a fan. But the way that the Fontecastello is built keeps the rooms cool during the hot summer months. Pool was lovely. Pet-friendly hotel. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location Just outside of Montepulciano

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Everything! A perfect jumping off point to explore Montepulciano, or the surrounding towns.
Cons: Nothing, a great place!
Location: Montepulciano is 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive to city gate at the garden. Great for all cities in the area. Montalcino, Pienza, etc.
What a great place! This is a small farm with apartments available. We had a small kitchen, sitting area, nice bathroom and two bedrooms. The owner is extremely nice, and there is someone on site most times. Nice not to worry about parking, but be so close to town. This location is very safe, and feels very secluded, while being a short walk to town. One thing to note: Heat & hot water are provided by Propane, and you'll have to pay your actual usage at the time of checkout. The owners are very upfront and transparent about this(Give access to actual meter readings at any time). We traveled in the beginning of April and didn't really have to use the heat much. We stayed 4 days, and it only added a nominal charge. But something to be aware of if you're staying for a longer visit, have multiple people taking long showers, or in colder weather. Again, you can monitor your own usage, and adjust according to your needs/preferences. Don't let this sway you from booking here.
5 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice and cozy room

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Very confortable and takes you to a real Toscan villa
Cons: No
Location: Great location next to Montepucciano, 5 min walk
The house takes you to a real Toscana Villa and it is located next to Montepucciano, 5 min walking distance. The house is really cozy and the room remembers you of a real experience of a Toscan house. We really enjoyed our stay. It has a great view to the grape field and of Toscany. We did not use the pool but it is big and looks great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Oct 2, 2011
We had a lovely spacious apartment ('La Scalla') in the farmhouse, with great views over the countryside. It was very comfortably furnished with traditional furniture, and all was spotlessly clean. There was a private place to sit outside immediately by our door, and we enjoyed eating and reading there. There is a pool, again very clean, and the farmhouse is surrounded by olive trees and vines. The family make their own wine and olive oil, both of which are delicious. From the apartment it is just a short (uphill) walk into Montepulciano, a delightful hill-top town, yet the apartment feels to be in the country, away from all the bustle and tourists. The hosts are very kind and helpful, and Marina cheerfully coped with our feeble attempts at Italian. Antonella speaks good English and is home from work in the evenings and at weekends. We would heartily recommend Podere Fontecastello.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scappatina di riposo

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Stupenda vista di Montepulciano e facilità per il parcheggio. Gentile accoglienza.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
这里的主人非常友好、热情。缺点是不太好找。
4 out of 5
by Frank from Niederkassel

Super Lage zu niedrigem Preis!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
Eigentlich waren wir für zu kurz Zeit nur hier. Das Haus wird familiengeführt, die Appartements mit Liebe eingerichtet. Die Anlage verfügt über einen Pool. Insgesamt waren wir sehr zufrieden,- einzig das Frühstück war etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig. Die Lage und Nähe zur Altstadt sind aber einmalig!
5 out of 5
by Isabelle from Québec

Site près du village

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
Très bel accueil! Très propre. Belles commodités en chambre quoique pas de sèche-linge ou corde. Lit et oreillers assez confortables quoique oreillers très dures. Vue environ plus ou moins appréciable (fils). Village tout près, peut s'y rendre à pied facilement.