Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice enough but secluded

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Very clean and nice view
Cons: Better mattresses - earlier breakfast than 8am
Location: Middle of a small village - need car to access - very narrow street and limited parking Not much to do in the village but not far to sky areas
Out of the way - parking difficult - very very narrow street - out of the way. Breakfast was fine and rooms were very clean but beds not very comfortable - too hard for my taste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Gary & Karen, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Very sorry about the confusion over breakfast. On your departure day you came down for breakfast at 0730 hrs. I explained it was normally at 0800 hrs but I could get it ready as soon as possible. You explained your husband had got the breakfast times wrong. Also if you wanted an earlier breakfast you only had to ask. I would not say we are in the middle of a small village or the roads are particularly narrow. We are on the edge of Lens and only a 5 minute walk from a very pretty and picturesque traditional Swiss mountain village. Fantastic walks start from our door. In regards to parking we have parking for 5 cars. Not sure why you would mention parking in the village but it does have 3 large car parks. No need to park on the streets and that is part of the charm of an old Swiss village. Our little village has 4 restaurants, a tea room, supermarket, post office and a bank. Yes it is a quiet village but Crans Montana is only a 10 minute drive from here with over 50 restaurants and lots of shops and bars. Sion the main city of the region is only a 20 minute drive with lots of shops, restaurants and a weekly market. Most of our guest comment on how peaceful and quiet it is here and that is the main reason they come. You are very close to lots of places and activities but you can enjoy the peace and calm here in Lens. Yes a car is the best way to get around to see this amazing area but we are on a main bus route from Sion to Crans. The bus comes through Lens about every hour. Your score was 4 out of 5 so I think you enjoyed your stay overall. Best wishes for the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely chalet in Lens

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable and excellent hosts
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of walking, cycling, golf, site seeing and plenty of bars and resteraunts catering for all tastes.
The chalet is very charming, immaculately clean , very comfortable and in a lovely quiet location in Lens just a short drive from Crans-Montana. We stayed for 3 nights and really didn't want to leave. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us some great ideas of places to visit as well as local walks. We played golf at Crans Sur Sierre golf course which was stunning! We will certainly be returning and would recommend the chalet to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Gary & Karen, Hotel Management
Many thanks for such a great review. Much appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Hong Kong

Nice stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
All good but for a purpose designed place the barrooms lack anywhere to put stuff.
4 out of 5
by Stephane-Kate

Chalet des Alpes - a quaint destination

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Gary and Karen were quite helpful and have a plethora of maps and books on the area and things to do rain or shine. Chalet des Alpes is in a unique location and despite having a full house, the insulation is quite impressive and there were no disturbances from other guests--couldn't even here the doors close.
5 out of 5
by Abigail from Plymouth

A lovely place to stay...

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
This was the first time that we had visited Switzerland and to be honest we didn't really know what to expect. Gary and Karen were both incredibly helpful and accommodating, they helped us massively with planning what to do with our time and as a result we have had an amazing holiday. We were very impressed with how welcomed we were and found it very reassuring when being in a country with very little English. The room which we stayed in was lovely, comfortable and clean, we had our own balcony with amazing views - we couldn't ask for anything more. And to top it all off, breakfast was even included in the price as well, we would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was great, the accommodation was immaculate and where the Chalet is situated is beautiful and quiet.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Forest, Mountain and Glacier Walks, Mountain Biking, Thermal Baths, Grande Dixence, Crans Montana, Sierre, Zinal
We had a fabulous time at Chalet de Alpes. The chalet overlooks the Rhone Valley and the views/scenery are absolutely stunning. Garry and Karen couldn't have been more accommodating hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was a continental buffet which set us up for each day. Garry was great and always helpful in giving us various things that we could do every day. There are lots of walks from the Chalet and from Lens in general with Crans Montanta only 10 mins or so away. We have fallen in love with this place and we will certainly be back.
5 out of 5
by JohnS from Colorado Springs

Lovely B&B with a Alps view!

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
I wanted a place in a small village and this was it. Please note no nightlife in walking distance, we drove to Crans-Montana
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
Chalet des Alpes is excellent, great service, beautiful rooms, gorgeous views.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Denmark

A good base for playing golf in the Alps

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels
Me and my friend spent 2 nights at Chalet des Alps when we came to play golf at Crans Montana. The stay was very pleasant with good service from the hosting couple and fantastic views from our balcony. The room was very well maintained and clean. All together a perfect, and cheap, base for a couple off days in the Alps.
5 out of 5
by Brock and Jen Fraser from Asheville, NC, USA

Great Chalet!

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels
Gary and Karen run a very clean and tidy bed and breakfast operation. They are exceptionally helpful, giving great daily advice to tourists who are trying to make the most of their time in the region. The views off the balcony of the rooms are outstanding, looking west down the Valais region valley. The town of Lens is a sleepy little place but quite close to Crans-Montana and a great central location for touring the region. We visited Zermatt, Chamonix, many high-altitude dams and lakes, and took a few very nice hikes. Gary and Karen did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. Thanks!