Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wonderful place with great views overlooking old Z

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Amazing views, nice room, friendly staff, great buffet breakfasts. No screaming children running around.
Cons: Spa area was a little weird. Chlorine vapor was pretty unpleasant, but I suppose it's necessary.
Location: We skied the whole time
Very unique property with amazing views of the matterhorn, overlooking the historic alpine village of Zermatt. Great location 25 paces from the high speed "train lift" that takes you up to the base of the mountain on the swiss side. The skiing in Zermatt can be frustrating...crowded runs, thin snow cover off piste and the layout of the mountain requires you to spend of lot of time on the lifts. I suggest getting over to the Italian side (Cervinia) as much as possible. The snow was better and the crowds were thinner. There is an amazing run from the top of the Matterhorn Glacier tram all the way down to the base on the Italian side...it's ~7000 ft total vertical drop. Possibly the longest run I've ever seen. For context, the largest in-bounds vertical drop in North America is ~4500 ft. But there is nothing like the town of Zermatt. One of the coolest places you'll ever visit. Can't think of a better place to stay than Hotel Schonegg.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in Zermatt!

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Swiss hotel conveniently located to the lifts. The staff was extremely accommodating! The breakfast was amazing in a beautiful dining room. We will return someday!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great location

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Fantastic staff facilities location and breakfast cosy bar Great spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from World Traveler

Pampering and wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Hotel was immaculate, staff was super friendly and accommodating, rooms were quaint and cozy.
Location: 100 meters away from the Sunnega chairlift. 3 minute walk from the train station, the Gonergrat rail and town centre.
Wonderful little chalet hotel in the Alps. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Quality hotel, world class view. Great food.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Tasteful decor in a truelly beautiful place. Our room had close up views of the Matterhorn and Zermat. Staff and management were very helpful, they even found me some binoculars to view birds of prey. Hotel is very close to ski lifts. I'd be delighted for anyone I knew who was going to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views and activities

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful room and view. Good location. Scenic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, gorgeous view

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay. The Matterhorn was framed perfectly in our window. The beds were luxurious. The breakfast was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Brissa

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
The room we stayed in had a perfect view of the Matterhorn, it was really clean and quiet. The staff was really friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Honeymoon at the Matterhorn

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Orbitz
We arrived to find out that we were the only guests in the hotel for the night....the summer season had just started and it was the first night. Needless to say we were treated like VIP's! The hotel staff was absolutely amazing. From a personalized breakfast buffet to making sure we knew exactly what to do in Zermatt, the customer service was fantastic. The mountain view room is a must. By far the best view of the Matterhorn from the town. Would recommend to all of my family and friends. Thanks for making our honeymoon memorable!
5 out of 5
by Graham from Finchampstead

Hotel Schonegg - thumbs up

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Schonegg was a great choice: very close to Sunnegga and bus stop, easy walk into town, very good facilities, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. We will definitely stay there again.