Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely little hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Wonderful little hotel with fabulous staff! Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Angenehmes Hotel im Familienbesitz

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Sehr nettes Hotel, Service sehr gut und freundlich. Frühstücksbuffet sehr gut und grosse Auswahl. Pool war am Abend angenehm und entspannend. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. Ein echtes Familienunternehmen. Hotel gab mir für eine Verlängerung um eine Nacht einen günstigeren Preis. Danke für den lieben Service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fürstenwalde /Spree

schönes Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: freundliches Personal, gutes Frühstück, gleich nebenan Haltepunkt der Rigibahn, Seilbahn nach Weggis nur wenige Minuten entfernt
schönes kleines Hotel, mit persönlicher Atmosphäre, freundlichem Personal, Mineralbad gleich nebenan, viele schöne Wanderwege mit herrlichem Ausblick, gut zu erreichen ist z.B. Luzern mit dem Verkehrshaus, bei schlechtem Wetter für die ganze Fam. zu empfehlen Hotel ist sehr gut mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel zu erreichen
5 out of 5
by Jasmin from Frauenfeld

friendly atmosphere

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff at the reception and in the restaurant
5 out of 5
by Frank from Kansas City

Fantastic place above Zermatt.

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
This place is quaint, comfortable and friendly. It's got commanding views of the Matterhorn, Zermatt, and the ridge roughly north of the town. It has, hands down the finest sauna I've ever been in. The sauna isn't clothing optional though, it's clothing strongly discouraged. The breakfast here is outstanding. Nice variety of meat, cheese and bread plus the normal breakfast stuff, with good waiters that really make you feel special. The bar is also nice. We did initially have trouble finding the tunnel and elevator that leads you too the front door. Miss that and you're facing a long walk around to reach the hotel. The aforementioned enterence is on a side street ramping up from the one that follows the river. Call, though and someone will pick you up from the train station in a little electric taxi.
4 out of 5
by Mike from US

Super view of The Matterhorn

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Off the top view of The Matterhorn. Hotel will shuttle you for free from train station. Then the elevator is super to get back and forth from town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great SPA hotel

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice hotel with a great spa area! A very good breakfast and location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location & great hotel but very thin walls

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Doing something to reduce noise transmittance between rooms
Location: Perfect location for views of the Matterhorn and feeling away from the main tourist areas, whilst still being very close to the town centre.
We recently stayed in room 71 which is in the 'annexe' attached to the main building. The location of the hotel, slightly out of the centre of Zermatt on the hillside, is perfect for views of the Matterhorn and gives you the feeling of being away from the main tourist areas. Guests of the Hotel Alpenroyal are also given a pass to use the 60m high tunnel/lift entrance to the Hotel Schönegg across the road, which means the town centre is easily accessible and you're not faced with an uphill walk every time you come back to your hotel. Breakfast was excellent with a huge variety to choose from, although the 'hot' options disappeared a couple of days after we arrived, presumably due to the hotel being quiet in the off-season. The room was clean and well kept. The only criticism I would add, and it is a serious one if you like peace and quiet, is that the walls between each room are *extremely* thin, at least in the area of the hotel we were staying. This meant that when there were guests in the adjacent rooms we could hear practically every word of their conversations (and the wall-mounted TVs), and for a couple of days there was a very noisy dog in the room next to ours (pet-friendly hotel). Fortunately we were only disturbed for part of our stay as we were there in the off-season and there weren't many people staying in the hotel, but if you can't stand noise, I'd recommend either choosing a different hotel or bringing earplugs!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent view
4 out of 5
by Peter from Innerschweiz

Kurzferien zum Skifahren

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel nur als Aufenthalt für's Skifahren - sehr ideal gelegen.