Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by George from Denver

Classic

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Affordable place to stay. We stayed here out of necessity because we planned our trip in high season about one week prior to arriving. I liked it because of proximity to the gondola and we could get 2 rooms (4 bed apartment) for the price of 1 room in town. It was a nice start to the trip to have split rooms to catch up on sleep after 16 hour travels from the US. You get what you pay for here (dated interiors, no frills) plus the best view of the Matterhorn in town.. It's way up the hill from town but hoofing uphill is a good thing to do when trying to acclimate to Zermatt. Great breakfast as per all hotels in Zermatt. I never tried the dinner. Ski room was spacious. Hotel owner was very helpful to give us a complementary ride to our next hotel location.
4 out of 5
by Bryan from San Francisco

Way up the hill, just like I like it.

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
Completely amazing view of the Matterhorn from the balcony, which goes around the corner to cover two sides of the corner room, 306. The other window faced an adjacent hotel. I was there in November, and as such there was no snow to ski down to the gondola which I assume is possible in the winter. 30 francs for an electric taxi from downtown, otherwise it's a walk uphill, steep for the last half kilometer (that half kilometer starts at the Gondola). Didn't bug me, but I know some people it would. Plenty of climbers have stayed here. The bathroom floor had been repaired and it wasn't such a prorfessional job. Some of the finish on the bathroom windows (also Matterhorn view) was waering off. Service is simple. Breakfast is very basic - I recommend hitting the grocery store by the train station and keeping a "cooler" on the balcony. ...eat health and save the calories for Fondue ;) Other than that my concerns for ski season are space. The rooms are a good size for a little trip, but with equipment and drying ski clothes it would get tight in there. It's one of my favorite hotels, actually.
4 out of 5
by Tegan

Amazing view of the Matterhorn

Posted Nov 10, 2012 on Hotels
I stayed three nights in the four-person apartment on the top floor with my husband and his parents. The apartment is very spacious and has a cosy chalet feel. It has a kitchen, a large balcony with a fantastic view of the Matterhorn and a spa bath in the bathroom. The only problem is the room and bed setup. There is a double bedroom plus a room with a single bed and another single bed in the lounge. This would be fine for a family with kids but not ideal for two couples. Also the ceiling in the bathroom is low so it's difficult for tall people to shower. The service is very friendly and the continental breakfast is great, with bircher muesli, cheese, cold meats, fresh croissants and homemade bread. The hotel is about a 10-minute walk above the town - easy unless you've got too much luggage or are not very mobile. Hotel Bijou was much cheaper than similar places we looked at in Zermatt. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Stevensville, MI 49127, USA

What an incredible view and price was just right

Posted Oct 25, 2012
Pros: The exceptional views
Location: within walking distance from everything you need in town
We arrived late and yet were happily greeted by a staff member who showed us our room. We opened our door to the balcony and the majestic Matterhorn was looming above us. We could hear cow bells softly jingling in the distance making me feel like I had been transported into a film I loved dearly called Heidi. The staff was more than helpful and we found it exceptional that they spoke so many different languages to be in tune with anyone who came to visit their hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to see this magnificent area.
3 out of 5
by JJROTH63

ZERMATT HOTEL

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels
The Hotel Bijou is "out of the way" of the town, it is about a 20 minute walk, uphill through the city. The Gondola to Klein Matterhorn runs near the hotel, but this is not "in-town". The staff has trouble with English unless you talk to the son, Andre, he speaks fluent English and made a dinner reservation for us. This hotel is great for a guys week, but a woman might not like the accomidations. The view from our room was of the city, but the other side of the hotel and the breakfast room have wonderful views of the Matterhorn.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Amazing views of Matterhorn

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome. Awesome view from our balcony. A very comfy and enjoyable stay - evening meal a real bonus. We would definitely return for another visit.
5 out of 5
by Ashley

Perfect View

Posted Jun 9, 2012 on Hotels
Although the hotel is not directly situated inside the town center, Hotel Bijou is a hidden gem in the lovely Zermatt. Nestled right up against the Matterhorn, this hotel boast magnificent views. Almost surreal in that you feel as if you are living inside a postcard. The area is quiet and peaceful, perfect for rest and relaxation, whether you are traveling with a friend or significant other. I understand the hotel is more busy during the winter season when tourists flock to the mountains, however, during the spring it was a nice surprise to not be bombarded with other guests. However, you may not even know how many other guests are staying there because each room feels private and secluded and spacious. The hotel manager and staff were incredibly helpful and delightful. The breakfast, had an array of breads, yogurts, jams, and drinks to choose from neatly displayed. The food at the hotel is amazing, you don't have to even leave if you don't want to venture into town. Although if you do, it is an easy short walk, as long as you don't have too much luggage. I would highly suggest this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay, clean rooms, amazing views, great service. I want to go back again already.
5 out of 5
by SWITZERLAND-USA

To See Matterhorn with Family

Posted May 23, 2012 on Hotels
Our stay was wonderful! The view of Matterhorn was directly from our rooms. We were very lucky to have beautiful, clear, blue sky during our stay. Which made our stay even special. Our rooms came with a huge balcony were we can rest and enjoy the gorgeous, ice-capped view of Matterhorn. The service and staff were excellent. We felt safe and at home. Andreas was very friendly, helpful, and attentive. Spoke perfect English and guided us with hints and tips around Zermatt. The Hotel is very cozy and we felt very at home. The hotel offers breakfast which was at the garden with a perfect view of Matterhorn. We could not as for anything more than this perfect view!!! Bijou has no pressure of elegant flowers or expensive decorations but to come home to visit your favorite family where one feels welcomed. We are definitely coming back and has already recommended Bijou to our friends and family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva

too far

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels
For the price, I am sure you will be able to have a better hotel and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zermatt Hotel visit

Posted Feb 7, 2012
Pros: Good food and friendly staff. There is a very nice heated ski storage room with a heated boot drying rack.
Location: The Bijou is located a short (10 minute) walk from the bottom of the gondola or a short walk from the free bus to the village center.
Over all very nice. You can see the Matterhorn from your breakfast table!