Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Good location. A great thai restaurant in the hotel. Good atmosphere.
Great location on the main street. Close to the bahnhof and easy access to restaurants and shops. Room is quite small, and the light is very dim, but for one night stay it was a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The hotel was easy enough to walk to from the station, conveniently located in the centre of the shopping area and very reasonably priced for Zermatt. The room was small but clean, and the breakfast good. I was happy to stay there, the only annoying thing was lack of plugs in my room to recharge my camera, I haven't encountered that problem anywhere else in my travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good for budget travelers.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Room was not bad, wifi, TV, bathroom works well. Easy to get around. Breakfast didn't have many but it was good. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 28, 2017
We are a family of 4, and we're given the family suite, so we had plenty of room, unlike some of the other reviews l read, so l suggest if you are more than 2 that you book the family suite if you need more room. The service we received and the breakfast was more than adequate, and we also ate in the restaurant a couple of nights, having the special menu we were offered for hotel guests. The meal was reasonably priced and the service was excellent, the waiter and waitress from Portugal made you feel very welcome, 2 very lovely people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great but they are understaffed

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff service
Location: All shops and activities just outside the doorstep of hotel
Room was good but breakfast service really bad. The same one person working on reception also serving breakfast and clearing tables - total nightmare
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Martin Schürch, Geschäftsführer, Hotel Management
Yes, we are a very small team. Unfortunately this is the only way in Switzerland to keep the room rates low. And our new staff is excellent in the meantime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, U.A.E

Too Small but cozy...

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Don't recommend this hotel if you have heavy bags as there are no lifts. Rooms are too small but neat and clean and hotel staff are also very friendly. The morning breakfast was also good even though the variety was less...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great Location, Comfortable

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Location, Clean, Comfortable
Location: Main street, Stoked Rental, Matterhorn Museum, Train Station
This hotel is right off the main street. We were on the top floor, room 15, so we had a view from our room. The bedroom and bathroom was very large. The bed was comfortable. As others have stated, there was no elevator. Trekking to the top floor wasn't difficult for us, but if you have trouble with stairs, it may not be for you. Check in was easy--we arrived at noon, our key was ready for us at the door. There was a sign on the door that had everyone's names and room numbers for checking in. Breakfast was just as we expected--toast, some meat, cheese, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and juice. The lady who runs the hotel brings by coffee, tea, or hot chocolate. She was very friendly. The only complaint we had was during the evening, while the restaurant was open, you could occasionally smell smoke coming from the restaurant, even on the 4th floor. There was some confusion at checkout--we had booked the hotel before we left the US through Expedia, and it showed as pending on my transaction history when we left. However, when we were checking out, we were asked to pay the full price. Since the hotel has wifi, we looked up the transaction history on our account, and the charge never went through. I guess it just sat as pending then fell off--perhaps to check if the card had funds? Regardless, we paid the full amount at checkout. The lady that runs the place was very nice about it, and gave us time to check our account history to make sure we weren't being double charged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Very Nice Swiss Hotel in the Center of Town

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: It was a little difficult to find the hotel entrance from the street, I think they moved the sign due to the snow.
Location: location is right in the middle of everything, right on the main street.
This is what we would consider a "Traditional Swiss Hotel". It has the look and feel, just like you read about in books. Breakfast was fantastic, location is fantastic, right in the city center, about 6 minute walk from the train station and about 10 minutes from the chair lifts to the big ski areas. Room was adequate, lots of hot water, great view. We will stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good location, but bad value for money

Posted Aug 4, 2015
pros: - good location, it is a walking distance from rail station - breakfast was ok - hotel staff was friendly cons: - you will hear every single person who is passing the corridor due to very thin door and noisy wooden floor - you will hear your neighbors due to thin walls - there is huge problem with the internet connection, on 3rd floor there is no wi fi signal - I had a feeling that I was in hostel not a hotel. Next to my room was a commercial washing machine which operates from early morning till late night. Last time it finished the washing at 10:20 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Relatively authentic experience as far as a hotel in Zermatt goes. Not too great as hotel reception left at 2pm and I checked in at 5pm so I didn't have Internet for the entire length of my stay - would be nice if the password was left in the room or something. Very nice breakfast by Swiss standards btw.