Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Anna

Modern hotel, great service and breathtaking views

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
This is a newly refurbished hotel with stylish rooms. The location is second to none for access to the lifts for skiing and the views of the Matterhorn were simply breathtaking. If that wasn't enough, the hotel service was exceptional. We were greeted at the station by concierge staff for our transfer to the hotel (we stayed for seven nights) and were offered a drink on arrival (a lovely Prosecco). After our long day's skiing Zermatt's wonderful ski fields, we enjoyed our afternoons in the wellness centre (including pools, sauna, steam room, etc). The breakfast and afternoon snacks are also great. I would definitely recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
by Brenton

Best hotel I've stayed in yet

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel and I would recommend it highly. It's small (about 30 rooms) and the staff gave us a lot of attention and help on local information. The indoor/outdoor pool is amazing and the rooms have stunning mountain views. Buffet breakfast was great with heaps of choice. Each afternoon the hotel puts out free pastries, sandwiches and tea/coffee to enjoy with other guests by a lovely fireplace and library, which was a great touch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and of course for selecting hotel Matterhorn FOCUS as your residence during your trip to Zermatt. We are very pleased indeed that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be honored to be your hosts again if your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt. Sunny regards from the Matterhorn village, Chris & Patrizia, hosts
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo, japan

perfect stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
everything was perfect! especially facility for spa and swimming pool, breakfast quality are extremely wonderful. I will definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest We are very happy that we have met your expectations. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. We are glad to hear that you appreciated your stay and it is our pleasure to share your review with our team. To us there is hardly anything sweeter than a compliment for a job well done. FOCUS hopes to be on your list, if your travel plans should lead you back to Zermatt. In the meantime, stay well and enjoy a wonderful Christmas time. Yours sincerely Chris & Patrizia, hosts
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Warm and nice customer service. Very beautiful room views allow you to enjoy views on bed and have wonderful tea time on balcony.
5 out of 5
by Stephane from San Francisco

Very Unique Boutique Hotel with Great Team

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Zermatt is a unique place among Alpine resorts (no cars) and the Matterhorn Focus is a unique hotel in Zermatt. Partially built underground so as not to break the town height limits, the hotel stands out from the the run-of-the-mill Swiss chalet type hotels found in the resort. We stayed in the Focus Suite which not only had an amazing layout and furniture (all made from the same place in town) but also had breathtaking views of the Matterhorn. The suite was super well equipped. The breakfast was awesome and the staff was amazingly helpful and friendly (not always the case in this part of Switzerland). The only issue we had was with the kid's room getting too hot at night but the staff worked hard on fixing the issue. Having a fridge in the suites would be nice as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Yes, would have loved a kettle to make a tea in the morning.
We had a very warm welcome from reception and were extremely happy with our room. We had magnificent views of matterhorn and it was breathtaking. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Taehyung Park

Nice location Nice View and friendly staff

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
View at the Hotel entrance to Jungfrau and walking distance from Interacken west
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nora from New York, NYT

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was perfect. I have been living in Switzerland for 7 months, and I have not experienced the level of service I received at the Focus ANYWHERE ELSE. Would go back at the drop of a hat. Closest, nicest hotel to the main gondola up the mountain. Incredible spa. Will never stay anywhere else in Zermatt if I can help it.