Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Exceptional staff, beautiful views.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Cons: The hot tub wasn't working well while we were there.
Location: The hotel was a little bit more into the wilderness than other local hotels. We loved that about it. It was just tiring to walk to at times.
Our expectations were exceeded. The hotel was small and quaint. Staff made sure we were happy at all times. The food was great. The location was gorgeous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Welcome drink was a nice touch
Cons: Disappointing hours at the restaurant and bar. Restaurant closes at 9PM and bar at 10PM.
Location: Can catch the ski bus a 3 min walk away from the hotel
Lovely boutique hotel about 10 mins walk to ski lift at base of the Matterhorn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quiet, friendly boutique hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Lovely boutique hotel; only 36 rooms. Off the beaten path, consequently very quiet. Great staff. Excellent restaurant. Try the igloo fondue! Worth it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Stylish Retreat

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Decor and classy vibe. Breakfast always lovely. Free lift to and from train station on arrival and departure. Free mini Toblerones each evening at 6pm
Cons: Coffee machines in rooms would be nice.
Location: This hotel is far from town - best to use bus or taxi rather than walking. Visit the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise, at 12,000 feet - beautiful scenery!
I think the hotel is oriented mostly to a young, fit, wealthy, sophisticated ski crowd. If you are in a group of expert skiers, you will love it. If you are older and a non-skier you might feel more comfortable in a homely hotel in the town centre. The decor at the Matthiol is gorgeous, and several of the staff members are very sweet. Oddly, there is a lot of helicopter noise in the day times, as deliveries of supplies are made, and an otherwise silent landscape is disturbed by the motors. If you can afford it, get a room with a balcony. I got top floor which has lovely exposed wooden beams on the ceiling. Overall, a great hotel but quite far from the centre of Zermatt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

One of the best hotels I've been!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Location: A bit far from "downtown" but so nice to be in a quiet area of the town as well.
Great hotel with amazing staff and location. Someone picked us up from the train station. We were welcome with a cocktail while our luggage was being delivered to our room. Very friendly staff. Amazing room and of course, amazing view!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Matthiol was amazing, the staff were great and the lace is beautiful. Truly enjoyed our stay and the experience as a whole. Wonderful boutique hotel! Complimentary shuttle service to/from train station is a nice bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Very nive hotel and staff. A little bit far from the center
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing people, amazing experience

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
What an amazing place. The staff was excellent and created a memorable experience. I did a 10 day vacation in Switzerland and France and this hotel was the highlight!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing it had a beautiful view and our room had a sauna couldn't have been more perfect.