Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Excellent stay

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Kids club, breakfast, staff, pool, cleanliness, location.
Location: Near ski lifts and shopping.
I stayed here with my 3 children (9,6,3). Our room was perfect for us. The staff tidied our room twice daily. The breakfast buffet was delicious and they made omelets, eggs to order as well. My children loved the kids club. The pool and spa area was added bonus. We had a fantastic holiday at this hotel and would highly recommend it for anyone traveling with children. The hotel picked us and dropped us off at train station. Great location to lifts, bus, and central shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful, traditionally Swiss hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Charming Swiss decor, amazing view of the Matterhorn, lovely staff.
Cons: There are many '80s "touches" that could be updated...the decor could definitely use a bit of refreshing.
Location: All mountain activities are within walking distance, including helicopter tours, paragliding, hiking and the train station.
Had a great experience with a lovely room that included a charming sleeping loft for our teenaged son. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi and simply perfect view of the Matterhorn. We would definitely return the next time we are in Zermatt. Also had a sumputous breakfast and lovely dinner at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Gem of a Hotel in Zermatt

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Our room was very spacious and because we were travelling with 2 other couples we were able to gather for a visit.
Cons: We loved everything
Location: Zermatt is very small and for people who enjoy walking, it is easy to walk everywhere.
We had a beautiful room with 2 little balconies, a very cozy and comfortable seating area and many little extra comforts. Would have loved to have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener Ontario

Nice view of the Matterhorn

Posted Sep 9, 2016
This is a beautiful hotel with great staff and a very nice spa. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. You can see the Matterhorn from the balcony. The heated outdoor pool with jets is very nice and relaxing after a day of hiking or skiing. Dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good as well. Enjoyed the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Thomas Abgottspon , Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, - we thank you very much for your comment and we are very happy to hear that you appreciated our various assets during your stay. The pool and SPA are just stunning such us our excellent cuisine daily prepared out of fresh delivred eatables! We would be very proud to welcome you again for a next visite with us! Sincerely yours, - Hotel La Ginabelle Zermatt, - Fam. Abgottspon - Schell and staff
3 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando,fl usa

Europe

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: The view of the mountain
Cons: Everything is great
Great location and the room had a beautiful view of the Matterhorn walking distance to the main area great pool and a long day of walking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney AU

Unhelpful & Rude Staff

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to train station and clean presentation of the room.
Cons: Better attitude and helpfulness from the receptionist. Having a better equipped - basics in the room.
Positive points- 1) walking distance from Zermatt train station 2) the house keeper was very attentive. Negative points - 1) No kettle in the room to make a cup of tea; 2) A non smoking room smelt like someone has been smoking there daily; 3) No proper bottle opener in the room and 4) whenever we asked th receptionist for help - they just said - talk to the restaurant or kitchen... HELLO!! Very disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
by Ying Ying from Hong kong

a nice place with elegant decoration

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
It was an elegant hotel decoration. The staffs were friendly. The mountain view is excellent.But the breakfast was not included in the room rate Which we did not know before the charge, and the breakfast was fair, the egg was not very good.
5 out of 5
by Angela & Dar from Indian Wells CA

Made the Dream Sweeter

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
The Ginabelle was wonderful. We arrived late at night, Andrea at the front desk was very sweet and helpful, the Ginabelle had all the amnesties you could possibly ask for and the room had the most awesome view to the Matterhorn. Waking up at the Ginabelle was a dream come true for us!
5 out of 5
by Sabine from Denver

Perfect place to stay in Zermat.

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay at La Ginabelle. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They upgraded our room without us asking. The location is great - just a few minutes walk to the train station and a nice quiet neighborhood. The spa facilities are amazing. Loved this hotel!!!