Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel with a great breakfast

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very attentive and helpful for all our needs. The hotel was newer and was very nice and clean. The complimentary breakfast was much nicer than expected and included numerous cheeses, fresh pastries & breads, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, breakfast meat, and a high end coffee machine that could make different types of coffees. The food was much nicer than your standard complimentary breakfast but not overly fancy. The room was very nice, comfortable, and clean. The room met my expectations especially for the price but it wasn’t what I would consider ‘high end luxury’ which I wasn’t aiming for anyway. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay here again if I travel to Zermatt in the future.
4 out of 5
by James

Outstanding Service!!

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Some of the best service I've ever had, and we commonly stay in 5* properties. The ONLY reason for 4* is because I'm a big man and the shower was difficult to wash up in. Too small for me, but probably just fine for all the athletic folks who stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Disappointing stay, rude reception.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Clean modern rooms, good breakfast with lovely staff in the dining area.
Cons: The women at reception were awful.
Location: Location is okay, the walk from the train station took 10-15 minutes, partially up hill.
This hotel could have been lovely, were it not for the women at reception. I am not sure if everyone gets such a poor reception at this hotel or if it is based on the color of your skin; however, as a couple from Hawaii celebrating our honeymoon we received a very cold welcome and each interaction with reception was equally chilly. We are very friendly and well traveled people and after two months in Europe this was the most disappointing hotel experience of all. We had emailed ahead that we were celebrating our honeymoon and they didn't even mention it or offer congratulations. Most notably upon check-out they told us they had to charge our credit card in US currency, which as experienced travelers we know is terrible value. We specifically asked to pay in local currency and the women told us we could not. This was the only hotel on our entire trip that did this. The rate we were charged was higher than what my Expedia confirmation quoted because of this. They were rude and cold the entire time so we just paid it so we could get away from them and had to dispute it with the credit card company later.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Modern comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Great breakfast with hot and cold food including smoke salmon and an excellent range of fruit and bread. attentive service.
Location: Easy to access from the train station. 8 min Walk.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. It is an 8 min walk to the station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to train station (within 10 mins)

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel room is very clean but a little bit small. It's only 10 mins walk to the main train station. Good wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut USA

Great stay!!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Had a great stay at the Phoenix with a view of the Matterhorn! We were late to breakfast due to travel but the innkeeper prepared us coffee and crossiants to take to our room which was greatly appreciated. Thanks for a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Room is comfort and view is great. But no air condition.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel , nice breakfast, kind staffs, quiet area.