Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

About as good as it gets.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, management, facilities..especially the pool.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Matterhorn and the surrounds, duh...
A well located and appointed hotel, and the owners and staff combine to make for a memorable experience. Add to this a responsible management policy concentrating on the preservation of our environment and you have a hotel that is superb. Hats off to all involved!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JaX Beach

Lovely hotel, great ambiance and staff

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Good location a block or so removed from main drag
A bit of a long walk from the train station (took the complimentary golf cart back) but once there a great location. Views if the Matterhorn, next to our bike shop, grocery's and cute touristy shops. Staff was very nice and informed, but the room sealed their excellent rating. Beautifully designed, comfortable and chocolate on the pillows!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u

Great view of Matterhorn

Posted May 30, 2017
Make sure you get a room with view. A bit pricy but worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great stay at the Romantik Hotel Julen

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The happy, smiling staff, location, great bed and bath.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Stayed three nights here. Wish it could have seven or more. The hotel was beautiful, and we had a full view of the Matterhorn from our balcony. Breathtaking. Every employee we met or dealt with was wonderful - personable and knowledgeable. Zermatt, itself, was fantastic. The scenery, the local buildings, points of interest and history were awe inspiring. Zermatt is now one of my favorite places in the world, and the Romantik Hotel Julen is a great choice for a stay - comfortable, close to everything (10 minute walk to the train station, Gornergrat train and the gondola station for Matterhorn Paradise (highly recommended, especially with a Swiss Pass, which cuts the cost in half). All the shopping is right around the corner two blocks from the hotel along with a number of restaurants. We got hamburgers at The Bubble (1 block from the hotel), and they were well worth the inflated price, not to mention that Andreas and Glen are great hosts there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Perfect, Romantic and wonderful views

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: everything. Breakfast was great as well.
Cons: I know this is minor but especially due to the high altitude my sinuses were having issues and there was no tissues in the hotel.
I booked the hotel based upon reviews and the pictures. My husband is a carpenter and loves all things wood. This hotel was PERFECT!! When we walked into the room, with all the wood detail and view of the mountains, we were blown away. I could not have asked for anything more. In addition, the amenities in the bathroom were state of the art, clean, working including the hair dryer. There was a mini frig, water, everything I could have wanted. Would definitely stay again. It made the experience magical.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location, staff and spa

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Excellent hotel in middle of Zermatt! Great spa and very helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Comfortable traditional chalet, good restaurant.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Decor and comfort. Excellent restaurant in basement.
Cons: The erratic elevator.
Location: Close to main shopping area. One block to ski bus. Best to take bus or taxi to ski lifts. Should go to Chez Vrony in Findeln for lunch.
Very well detailed and designed traditional chalet located near to the main shopping street very friendly and helpful staff. One of the best traditional Swiss restaurants in the village specializing in lamb dishes. Part of the Julen family network of Zermatt restaurants and hotels. The only problem was an erratic elevator.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great spa and pool area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent friendly hotel that goes that extra mile

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel highly recommended. Every aspect is thought through and perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY USA

Lovely modern/traditional hotel featuring sheep

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely loved the Julen for our stay in Zermatt! Lovely flower-covered hotel just a couple minutes walk to the main-drag of Zermatt. The family who runs the hotel is deeply rooted in Zermatt - they even preserve the traditions of the valley by raising blacknose sheep, the mascot for Zermatt, they use the wool and products of the sheep and invite guests to visit the flock in the mountains during the summer or in the barn in the rest of the year. It was one of the highlights of our Switzerland trip! Breakfast was lovely featuring many local and homemade products, the staff went above and beyond in offering assistance including free shuttle service to the train station, and the excellent basement spa was a welcome surprise. We'll absolutely be returning - even just to visit the friendly blacknose sheep!