Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Comfortable traditional chalet, good restaurant.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Decor and comfort. Excellent restaurant in basement.
Cons: The erratic elevator.
Location: Close to main shopping area. One block to ski bus. Best to take bus or taxi to ski lifts. Should go to Chez Vrony in Findeln for lunch.
Very well detailed and designed traditional chalet located near to the main shopping street very friendly and helpful staff. One of the best traditional Swiss restaurants in the village specializing in lamb dishes. Part of the Julen family network of Zermatt restaurants and hotels. The only problem was an erratic elevator.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great spa and pool area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent friendly hotel that goes that extra mile

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel highly recommended. Every aspect is thought through and perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY USA

Lovely modern/traditional hotel featuring sheep

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely loved the Julen for our stay in Zermatt! Lovely flower-covered hotel just a couple minutes walk to the main-drag of Zermatt. The family who runs the hotel is deeply rooted in Zermatt - they even preserve the traditions of the valley by raising blacknose sheep, the mascot for Zermatt, they use the wool and products of the sheep and invite guests to visit the flock in the mountains during the summer or in the barn in the rest of the year. It was one of the highlights of our Switzerland trip! Breakfast was lovely featuring many local and homemade products, the staff went above and beyond in offering assistance including free shuttle service to the train station, and the excellent basement spa was a welcome surprise. We'll absolutely be returning - even just to visit the friendly blacknose sheep!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lausanne

Fantastic hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
This was one of the best hotels I stayed in Switzerland, staff was always kind and helpful, room is nice too. Pool is awesome! Breakfast could have a few more options, but everything i tried was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Ping Hung from Hong Kong

Nice stay in this wonderful hotel (good staff)

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful staff looking after us from we check in till we check out.
5 out of 5
by christopher from Salt Lake City USA

5 STAR!

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location. Staff were extremely curtious and thoughtful. They knew me as their guest as I would walk in the door and would address me by my name and ask me how my day was and if I needed any assistance. I would rate this unique hotel or maybe mountain lodge/resort excellent in absolutely every category.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with huge pool

Posted Jun 3, 2016
The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very helpful. Not all the rooms have air conditioning though so check first. The swimming pool and spa is huge. I find the beds to be hard though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great family owned and operated hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Our stay was most pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are more than adequate, the staff is most congenial. Each morning the breakfast buffet was enjoyable. The restaurant is wonderful for the evening meal. The bar is a good place to start the evening and end it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Beautiful hotel, and the staff bends overbackwards to please you. I highly recommend it.