Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with amazing view

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Lovely people , great food , fantastic spar facility's , a truly perfect hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Near the Center of Zermatt

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The décor was wonderful
Location: Center of Zermatt, Matterhorn is very near
When we arrived at the Zermatt train station, staff from the Hotel met us in their electric shuttle. The Hotel was beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was great. Highly recommend this Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is very convenient and cozy

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was wonderful, the staff was really helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beyond expectations...

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culver City, CA

Amazing hotel with personal service

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: free train station pickup. Night sky illumination in ceiling in room, modern room, great personal service, quiet, free Wifi.
I had a great stay at the Sunstar in Zermatt. The hotel sent an email ahead of time to offer a pick up service from train station. Their driver was gone for the day but they sent a cab instead, which was there within minutes of our arrival. The staff at checking was pleasantly personal and helpful. The room was very nice. Breakfast was delicious. I checked out the next day but they staff advised me that I could store my luggage and use the facilities (such as pool and showers) after my hike until like 10pm. They even gave me a ride back to the train station 6 hours after checking out. And also let me use one of their umbrellas (each room has one) for the day after checkout. Little things like this make a difference and show that this an outstanding hotel. I will stay there again. Very personal and comfortable hotel. They earned their 4 Star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: The staff , the view
Cons: Moving the Matterhorn a little to the left so it was more central to my balcony view.
Location: Go to the ice cave on the Klein Matterhorn and go really early before there is a lot of people about.
Short walk from the station and the staff were helpful and friendly . Room with a wonderfull view of Matterhorn. Quirky having a shower cubicle inside the bedroom but no problem. Didn't eat or use pool in the hotel but were shown all the facilities by staff member. The pool is smaller than you might think the pool room uses a mirrored wall to create a sense of space. No hesitation in recommending this hotel as a base in Zermatt and most definitely would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Virginia USA

Summer skiing.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Though Expedia we booked, a south facing room (which costs more) for a view of the Matterhorn. We were placed in a standard room not facing south because Expedia failed to provide correct information to the hotel. As soon as this was brought up to hotel staff (after 1 night in the wrong room) we were quickly relocated to the correct kind of room. The hotel is great! The location is great. I recommend getting room service to on your balcony at least once. Staff are friendly and efficient. We went skiing on the glacier for a few days in June 2016. Zermatt is an excellent choice for a vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The staff was wonderful

Posted Jul 13, 2016
I had a lovely time at the Sunstar Style hotel. The two women at the front desk we're welcoming and helpful. They suggested some beautiful hikes that got my heat pumping and offers breathtaking views. They also offered to run me to the train station when I mentioned I was short on time. The minibar and sauna were big pluses. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Janet from Basel

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
We spent a weekend at Zermatt and we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and provided us with lots of useful tips for our stay. In addition, I forgot my phone charger in the room and they were so kind to post it back to me. We will definitely stay here again and thank you for making our weekend so fantastic.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Cape Town

Excellent Value with Great Hospitality

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great hospitality - very friendly. Room was modern. Location excellent. Would go back when next in Zermatt.