Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NOTHERN IRELAND

.SIX LOVELY DAYS IN VALBONNE, COTE D'AZUR

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Staff. Cleanliness. Bright bedroom.
Cons: Better usage of pool area, by re-locating sun loungers so that sun could be enjoyed at all times during the day.
Location: Golf. Lovely historic village of Valbonne with most interesting Friday market.
Most helpful, pleasant staff. Location quite convenient although difficult to walk into Valbonne itself, due to distance and lack of pavement. Only real complaint was the pool area which was quite confined with all sun loungers crammed into one side, the other side being restricted to a plethora of tables/chairs which were never used by guests!! We enjoyed the brightest and best located room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. Small bathroom but most comfortable bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington state

Out in the middle of No Where

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I see why this hotel had openings when all others were booked full. It is in the middle of no where. It is Not in Valbonne!! Even our Uber driver had difficulty finding it. We arrived ready to put our bags in the room and get some dinner. However, should you not want to eat at this hotel's restaurant, you are going to have to drive to Valbonne, so again called Uber. Once in at the tiny town, most of the restaurants were booked with previous reservations. In the room, the tv was crammed atop an old dresser in a closet. The view outside the room revealed some dry and dead bushes against a view of the road. Breakfast was the only positive. It was good and seating was by the pool. Went to Valbonne from a Rick Steves recommendation. My husband I were in France 2 weeks and Valbonne and La Bastide were the low point of our trip. Every other town OUTSIDE of The Valbonne area/La Bastide and our vacation experience was wonderful. I am cautious of information that gives sparkling reviews of hotels, restaurants, towns when contemplating travel. Cross reference information carefully when planning your trip. Who is writing some of these reviews stating XYZ was spectacular, I question?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Nice hotel but some room issues

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Pool area is very nice. Staff were pleasant. A lot of interesting towns and resorts to visit within easy driving distance.
Cons: Some sort of soundproofing at the end of the downstairs corridor near the restaurant kitchen Wider range of drinks. Snacks during the day
Location: Valbonne lovely market town, great atmosphere in the square, Anitbes, Villefranche Sur Mer and Monte Carlo well worth a visit
Hotel was pleasant, quiet and relaxing around the pool. Staff were friendly. However our room was on the front facing the busy road and the car park for the newly opened restaurant next door. We also had a lot of noise coming from the kitchen of the restaurant through the connecting door at the end of the corridor our room was on which carried on well into the night, mainly dishes and cutlery being washed. Despite several discussions with staff nothing was done or offered about this other than moving rooms on the second to last night which at that point was more hassle than it was worth. The room was also a tight fit for four people.
5 out of 5
by Caihong

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Nice quiet place with great character. Visit to the Valbonne town centre and square for dinner was an enjoyable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Charming hotel in the middle of Provence,

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Quiet, comfortable, clean, and convenient to Grasse, Antebes, Juan le Pins and Cannes. Very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Provencal jewell

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Big room, free parking, Prrovencal decor.
Location: Great food in the Valbonne old town square one kilometer away, perfume in Grasse, beaches in Juan le Pins, Shopping in Cannes.
Lovely hotel in the village of Valbonne convenient to Grasse, Juan le Pins, Antibes, and Cannes. Large room with balcony overlooking a beautifully landscaped pool. Clean and comfortable and very helpful staff. Good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely friendly hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: value, staff
Extremely welcoming and helpful staff, good value rooms and beautiful pool area.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Must visit

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay, great staff and service. Congenital breakfast by the pool was nice, as was the pool and patio itself.
5 out of 5
by Gareth from Hungerford

Another great stay at La Bastide.

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Another excellent stay at La Bastide. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended if you want a bit more of a personal service compared to the normal business hotel.
5 out of 5
by Heming from Oslo

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
I spent 3 days on cycling holiday and the hotel was perfectly located for me. Room was clean and quiet with a terrace. Breakfast was excellent with a fresh selection of food. Hotel staff was very friendly and always helpful in giving advices and helping me to store the bicycle safely overnight.