Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Large hotel with extensive green site , large pool

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Large , light and well run .
Cons: Labelling of access from S115 . Better attention to room furnishing as outlined above . A few more restaurant staff because of the coach trippers .
Location: Usual tourist trip to the Valley of the Temples and main town . Did not go to the suggested beach , what we saw did not encourage a visit .
Good experience overall , light and nicely furnished bar , good range of drinks . Large quiet room with views out toward the sea , and an excellent set menu with a wide choice of hors d'oevres at a very good price . On the downside , staff kept very busy with large number of coach trippers . Very difficult first time access and poor labelling off the S115 with loops from this road not well labelled and we needed a couple of goes to access the turn off . At the Hotel a map was provided but even that not very clear . Had to ask for an extra chair and bedside light for the room , only one of each provided and we were staying 3 nights .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Splendid view and good facilities

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for one night here. The view is beautiful and it stands out. The place is quiet and the pool area is really nice. Restaurant is also good value for money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at Baglio Santa Croce

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Excellent stay and nice setting. Good food and excellent facilities. Pillows and beds need an upgrade because they are not comfortable at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice stay in a unique room

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed only one night in one of the traditional rooms but we liked it. Two small windows (one was on the floor!) with wooden shutters and a little balcony you could crawl out onto for a fantastic view of the water and countryside. It was a bit warm in the room so maybe too much in the summer but it was still cool enough in May. The only irritating part was the shower which was just a curtained off section of the bathroom. Shaving in this is a nightmare unless you like wet cloth sticking to you as you try to balance on one leg and not end up in the bidet! Breakfast was nothing special but at least there was meat and cheese. They keep the grounds of this hotel well maintained so it has lots of charm and smelled clean everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful place

Posted Oct 23, 2012
wonderful place and service; the location and friendly staff made this a memorable stay
4 out of 5
by Ray

Nice retreat with super views!

Posted Jun 18, 2012 on Hotels
Great location to visit sites like Segesta, Erice, Marsala, and Trapani, high above a bay on NW coast of Sicily. Out of town, no other dining options than the hotel, which was ok but not fabulous tho' the restaurant views were breathtaking of sea and mountains in the distance. Good wine, fair prices. Our booking made over a month ahead, was for a "traditional room" - when we arrived we were told none was available and we were put in the "new wing". Pleasant tho' small, nice garden view, good bath and A/C (which wasn't yet working, due to our early June arrival, and honestly, not yet needed). We were relocated the next day to a traditional room - very quaint, stone walls, farm-like, but darker and no A/C which could be a problem in the later summer, tho' breezes flowed thru the non-screened windows (had bars, kinda' like a prison cell, a bit disconcerting). The bath was more primitive than the newer room, water flow in shower barely strong at all, nor very hot. Charming, but.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Not like the photos

Posted Mar 25, 2012 on Hotels
We based our stay on a photo and comments from the Eyewitness Travel book, showing a lovely old stone room with a carved beam ceiling. We asked for, and were given, a room in the old building. Imagine our surprise when we were shown into a motel-white room with no ambiance at all: paper-thin walls, plastic drinking cups, a cracked toilet seat... I speak Italian, and mentioned that the room wasn't like the picture we'd seen, and that we were a little disappointed by that. Our receptionist shrugged her shoulders and agreed. That said, it's fine. The location is terrific for exploring Erice, Segesta, even Selinunte. The restaurant is average and convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Baglio Santa Croce Valderice

Posted Jun 28, 2010 on Hotels
Location: Erice really interesting architecture and great restaurants but take a jacket at night
We were very disappointed as we drove near as the implication was that the hotel was high on a hill alone. It is off quite a busy main road which is a very unattractive shopping street The photos of hotel made it look delightful which it is from some angles, But the new part is just a modern box and the room we were shown to was not nice at all. We asked to be in old part of hotel (the photographed bit) and were told no a/c but as it was not that hot and we were only staying 3 days we took it at an extra 10 euros per night. However when we got into bed the first night the sheets were damp! Rectified the next day however. The restaurant has great views but is pretty grim and food not great. A long drive to get anywhere with good food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville

An oasis!

Posted Nov 29, 2009 on Hotels
In the middle of a chaotic area of Catania sits this little green, cool gem. There was nothing about it that we would criticize. We stayed there because of its proximity to the airport .... which we reached in about twenty minutes.