Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Nice hotel too much Febreeze!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Easy access for handicapped. Great location. Will be even better when new hotel is built.
Cons: Don't use so much smelly perfume deodorizer! Pretty overpowering! It will be so nice when the new hotel is rebuilt after the fire.
Location: Remove the restaurant from your web site until the new one is built. Very confusing. Fishing is always awesome in Valdez! Mike's has great food!
The rooms are excellent for layout however they got overzealous with the Febreeze or whatever they used to spray. We had to air out the room for 3 hours before we could be in it without getting a headache. Love the washer and dryer after a day out fishing. Kitchenette is awesome since there isn't much to choose from in local restaurants. We will stay there again and hopefully they will back off on the deodorizer spray!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste money

Posted Sep 3, 2017
It's very expensive and room will be disappointed. Bed is small and dirty, curtains is poor, everything looks like fake and unuseful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
I was disappointed because I booked the cabin and when I got there it wasn't available. Had to stay in the hotel instead. The room was great, but was upset cause I really wanted to stay in the cabin.
4 out of 5
by Alan Sr

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
why does everything in Alaska need to be rustic?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage

Wouldn't stay again if it was free.

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Orbitz
My room was dirty, smelly, and very noisy. You could hear every single thing happening above the room as well as next door and in the hallway. The staff was VERY unhelpful. Would never stay here again no matter if it was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Christian Stanford General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than perfect. We were not aware of any issues experienced throughout your stay and would like to hear from you regarding the above mentioned review. Please contact me directly to provide additional information so I may accurately address any and all issues reported. Thank you in advance.
4 out of 5
by Dori

Great place

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the stay was very convenient, although extremely expensive (for locals)! Kitchen was a great value as there are few places to eat out. Construction on site was handled excellent. Would've been nice for a heads up when the water was shut off for an hour. Hopefully the new hotel will have more handicapped rooms. Check-in is up stairs, and no elevator. TV's were very difficult to work and no instructions. Wifi was an added benefit. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: washer and dryer in the suites
Cons: surrounding and hotel stuff and rates booked via third party (52$ per night more)
Location: not much is going on in Valdez
unfriendly stuff and really expensive for what they offer, near area of the hotel is a mess, not recommended to stay with an expensive car
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Christian Stanford General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry you were unhappy with the fees associated with your reservation. We are dilligently working to provide our newest addition on property which will include 65 additional units. Please excuse the construction in the area located on property, I can assure you the wait will be well worth it!
5 out of 5
by Steven

Nice place to stay in Valdez

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'd like to request further information as to why we weren't able to earn all 5 stars. Please advise. We are constantly striving to better our guest's experience and look forward to hearing from you. Thank you in advance, Christian Stanford General Manager Totem Inn and Suites
4 out of 5
by Weidong

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Booked via hotel.com but the front desk cannot find the booking the lady later rebooked for me and promised no duplicate charge but my card was still charged twice for the same night terrible experience I have to wait for 20 mins before getting the key
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
I apologize for the issues you experienced when booking your reservation through hotels.com.m We have reached out to our 3rd party representative and have opened trouble tickets to prevent this from duplicating. I hope your time with us was enjoyable and that your next trip to Valdez will be a better experience. Thank you for providing feedback, we continually strive to do better for our guests and value your input! Christian Stanford General Manager Totem Inn and Suites Valdez, Alaska