Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bradenton, FL

Safe haven during evacuation from hurricane

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I came here to evacuate from Hurricane Irma. The hotel is old but what one expects from a budget hotel; as an evacuee, I wasn't interested in a spending a lot of money per night, just in finding a safe place that offered more privacy than my city's shelters. The staff did an excellent job in dealing with the hords of panic-stricken, maximally stressed-out Floridians; when I was there, almost the entire hotel was filled with hurricane refugees. The wireless was great until the storm (which hit Valdosta as a tropical storm) knocked it out, but this was probably a regional problem (rather than a hotel problem). Electricity was also out for a while - don't know if high end (ie., super-expensive) hotels have generators for such rare catastrophes, but I'm guessing that most budget hotels don't. So, overall, I praise the staff for how they dealt with such a high stress, emergency situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Enroute to visit relatives

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Looks dated. Breakfast with waffles would be nice.
Location: Convenient for our trip on I 75.
Clean room, low price, quiet, amenities okay, staff pleasant. Good location for our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was convenient

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Hotel was convenient for us to be able to go from one town to the next. We had to switch rooms because the bathroom flooded but they was great with helping us and put to g us into another room quickly. So that was great to see.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, Fl

Close to Insterstate

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel was recently remodeled which was nice. Rooms were small, but clean. Beds were uncomfortable, but I only stayed 1 night and the price was good so all and all it was worth the money spent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Raymond Upchurch, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the remodeling that we have done and that you felt that it was a good value for you. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Convenient location to highway

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: It was close to the highway, and was very affordable. The rooms were clean and neat, and there was a refrigerator, and microwave.
Cons: The bathroom toilet was very noisy.
Location: Great location, close to food and stores
We made last minute reservation on Expedia, and were lucky to fined a room for the price we paid. Easy, friendly check in, but no roll away beds were available. If the option was offered at the time we made the reservation, I missed it. It would be nice if the small print was more prominent ,so you would know that when you said 5 people, ( 3 adults ),it was more clear that you would need to request another bed. We were able to eat close by without getting in the car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. During the summer months, the roll aways we have do seem to go a lot faster than normal. We are glad you found the room clean, comfortable, and the hotel convenient. Stay safe on the roads, and we'll see you next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Do not stay here!!! Run!!!!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Bedding looked nice and new.
Cons: CLEANLINESS (roaches) and Customer Service
I booked with this hotel through expedia for 2 rooms. First, my husband saw a roach bug on the wall while we were walking to the room. Once in the room, our room had a funny mildew/mold smell. I don't know if it was the carpet or air unit. In the other room, we pulled the sheets back from the bed and saw a coach roach. We packed up and went to check out. The night shift worker could not give us a refund since we booked through expedia. My husband and myself called expedia every other day for almost 2 weeks. The problem was that expedia couldn't get in touch with the manager at the hotel. The reviews on here were decent so I thought it was an ok hotel. Please do your research and google this hotel. The reviews are horrible. Some even mention bed bugs. We ended up staying at the Comfort Inn and Suites down the road (way better hotel). My husband, myself and Expedia called the manager at this Super 8 hotel for refund but the manager was never there. Frustrating experience. Hope this helps in your decision about this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please allow me to apologize for your recent experience. I'm not sure where the miscommunication began, but I will research the situation and get back to you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

Not Impressed

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: It was close to the venue
Cons: air conditioner replaced, drain cleaned, carpet replaced & curtains replaced to get rid of odors
Location: great food & shopping are close
1 The room smelled of cigarettes 2 The sink was vey slow to drain 3 The air conditioner didn't cool very well Had we not been so wiped out from the amusement park we would have left, we just needed showers and a bed and those we clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please allow me to apologize for your recent experience. If you could contact the hotel directly, I would love to get the details of your experience so that the issues can be properly taken care of. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ashley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lois

A great place to stay.

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was really nice and helpful, I just loved the headboard above the bed and it was clean and nicely done in blue with plenty of amenities. Also good location.