Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: The location!
Location: The location couldn't be better! Very regal with outstanding views to the river front and Spain!
As I mentioned the views were absolutely stunning! The old fortress also gives a superb addition to the overall interest. With Spain nearby is also an excellent point to add value to the Pousada which keeps a character supported by the surroundings. The commercial factor inside the fortress also gives a parameter of kind of an historic market placed in place and time.
5 out of 5
by Ross

12th best view in the world.

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great time an historical setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Perfect spot on the Minho

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: See above.
Cons: This probably can't be improved but the pousada might be difficult for an elderly or disabled person unless because it has no elevator to upper floor.
Location: Shops and restaurants nearby. The Minho River has a long walkable path. Santiago de Compostela is less than a 2-hr drive. Huge market on Wednesdays.
Couldn't have been happier with this accommodation. What we liked: the friendly staff at reception who welcomed us with a glass of chilled lemonade on a scorching hot day, the tasteful modern décor and comfortable sofas and chairs in the common areas, the spectacular views of the Minho River and Spain across the way, the elegant dining room with views on 3 sides, exceptional dinners and generous breakfast buffet, our well-appointed room with a most comfortable bed for sleeping. When we brought a problem with the a/c to staff's attention one morning, it was immediately addressed and was working when we returned later from touring.
5 out of 5
by Yu Lam Rentius from Hong Kong

Customer is really their priority

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very kind indeed that we can have an early breakfast at 7:30am (should start at 8am).
5 out of 5
by Brigitte Klaib from Colorado, USA

Beautiful stay

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
had to extend my stay by one more day. I just didn't want to leave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edith from croydon uk

The view to die for.

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: The best view of all the hotels we have stayed
Cons: To have internet in the rooms, but then the lounge areas are so pleasant and quiet, so perhaps it is ok not in the rooms.
Location: The whole midevil town is so beautiful. The wall and cannons are still there. Cobbled street. Shopping for towels are good value.
Beautiful rooms with view to die for. Excellent location. The whole midevil town is so beautiful. The wall and cannons are still there. Cobbled streets and such a bargain for towels.
5 out of 5
by Keren from Israel

Really nice hotel at the best spot in town

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
This is a small and beautiful hotel, in a most romantic small town. Best view, great atmosphere, we had the best time staying there.
5 out of 5
by D. Harper from UK

5 star hotel in every respect

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels
Once you have located the entrance to the fortress and negotiated the circular internal route to the hotel you are rewarded with a small but fabulous hotel with views from your room way beyond your wildest expectations. We only stayed two nights but are already planning a further visit to Northern Portugal later this year and this hotel will definitely be on our list and we will stay at least three nights this time. The only slight criticism was that our room was 101 and only very limited late afternoon sun was available on the balcony.