Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth australia

Posted Nov 14, 2017
overpriced less than basic hotel. bed i need chiropractic help to recover from :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckkand

Nice hotel, clean. Easy to get to historical centr

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Three things would have improved our experience here. A small fridge in n the rooms or a water cooler in the reception area. Summer is exceptionally hot in Valencia. Secondly the air conditioning was not greatly effective and requires attention or upgrading. Last point is the shower is so small it's difficult to move in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Casual Valencia de las Civilizaciones, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, thank you so much for your comments. It will help us to improve our service. Looking forward welcoming you again in our hostel. Kind regards, S. Gonzalez.
5 out of 5
by christina

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel. Very unique and beautiful decor. Staff are very friendly and helpful and speak numerous languages. Very clean and tidy throughout. Would recommend highly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Totally Automated and over charged me

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Room size.
Cons: Fix the machine so it doesn't charge me multiple time and don't even let me in. (also showers are ridiculously small)
The room is large and interesting to but old, the place is not close to tourist attraction. The worst part of it is that it is Totally Automated and No Staff. But even worse the machine that checks you in needs a credit card and kept giving me errors so I could not check in. My friends card worked so he checked in for me, BUT when I got home to Japan, I was charged for the times the machine reported errors and I could not get in. So I was charged 3 times the amount of what it is supposed be. No I have to go through loops to get my money back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by S. Gonzalez, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all thank you for contacting us. Regarding your comment, we are sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your payment, there is no loops to go through, you only have to contact us. We have checked our records and we have found that you had 2 reservations and both were paid by the same card. But, once you checked your reservation on the machine, you make another payment, unnecessary, so we are happy to refund you the one that is not correct. Please, if you have any other question, please, do not hesitate to contact us directly to our email: casualvalenciadelascivilizaciones@casualhoteles.com. Thanks and kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Totally automated stay

Posted Jun 3, 2017
There is no one there, just a machine . I had to call a number on the machine because it did not recognize the reservation. Plus the English was not good. The room was nice size but quite distance from the center of city. Although I would no recommend it due to difficulty I had checking in, it is cheap so I rate it 3. Japanese Credit card did not work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Interesting rooms, were clean and comfortable

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Very interesting themed rooms. Nice wide stairway for carrying luggage up. Clean and neat. The Welcome Letter was good - it covered places of interest
Cons: Noise from other rooms was annoying Presence of a concierge/receptionist interested in helping guests would be good.
Location: Only 20 minutes walk from the train line and half an hour from the bus station meant good access to activites around the city.
Automated check-in did not work, and we were told by a housekeeper that we would have to return at 6pm. After a long journey to get there, and no cafes open nearby, this was not a good prospect. However the housekeeper was finally able to make a phone call & show us to our room. For the rest of our stay, no staff were apparent, and my one enquiry regarding the tea & coffee facilities mentioned in our welcome letter elicited a shrug and a sigh. Apparently they did not exist, although our Spanish is virtually non existant. Loud and lengthy berrating of the office woman by a male superior next morning did not make for the relaxed and comfortable establishment that we were seeking. The note in the welcome letter that we should check for the presence of a tv and air conditioner, otherwise we would be charged for their loss, was totally ludicrous. Spanish humour, perhaps?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

So near yet so far

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The location is a bit further out than expected but buses and tram are near enough.......have a tourist card to make travel effortless!! There are even a few night buses nearby........ The hotel lacks catering but there are many food places and a supermarket nearby. Rooms are spacious, artfully decorated and comfortable but the shower unit badly proportioned and a distinct lack of plug sockets. I was very pleased with the welcome muffins left on the bedside table and an actual letter from the management explaining Wi-Fi and who to contact........the little touches count!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The hostel is very bare bones with minimal amenities and no frills. Shower was tiny but clean, room smelled of cigarettes, only one room key was dispensed by the automated check-in machine. A decent option if you get a great deal but would pay a bit more to stay closer to the old town next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Robert from Usa

Urban..loud.

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
I would not do this again.