Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good hotel in an excellent location.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Staff were smiling and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with an extensive choice. Tea and coffee making in rooms was great after a day of sightseeing.
Cons: A minor irritation only, tea in the breakfast room sometimes tepid on arrival at the table. Need to use hot water !
Location: Very central location with easy access to most of Valencias attractions including the wonderful pedestrianised Turia river bed. Metro close by.
Our stay was excellent. From check in until departure we were made very welcome. Staff were helpful and efficient and nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. For a group of women on a weekend break we appreciated that there were mirrors in the bedrooms ! We didn't use the restaurant or spa so cannot comment on these.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Vicente Juanis, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is with great pleasure that I read your excellent review. Here at Hospes Palau De La Mar we aim to exceed the expectations of our guests, and with reviews such as yours, it is clear to us that we are succeeding. However, we will still continue to work on improving so that whenever you decide to come back, we delight you with an even better experience. Sincerely yours, Vicente Juanis General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Modern, clean , stylish with good welcome.
Cons: We didn't rate the tapas restaurant recommendation made by the hotel. Orio didn't feel authentic.
Location: Short walk to Old town with lots to see.
The hotel arranged an early check in on arrival. The staff were helpful with restaurant bookings. We enjoyed the Free Tours Essentials guide of the Old Town with Elena. Breakfast at the hotel was buffet style and good however, we would have preferred a cafe nearby but didn't find one in the immediate vicinity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Vicente Juanis, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with the other guests following your recent stay. Here at Palau de la Mar***** we take each and every opinión seriously, and we use them to provide a more engaging final experience for our customers. That is why I would like to honestly thank you for your feed back and hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Vicente Juanis General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brookfield, CT

Perfect in every way

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: LOCATION, food, modern style, staff. We visited during the festival of Las Fallas - the nightly fireworks are lit just a few blocks from this hotel!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Walk along Cauce del Rio Turia. About an hour's walk takes you to the Arts+ Sciences buildings and Oceanographic. Old city, shopping, Central market
This hotel experience was one of the nicest I have ever had. The Hotel itself is a mid-size hotel - I read that it was a converted mansion. It sits right outside the boundary of the old city, and is one block from a central roundabout called "Porta de la Mar" or Gate to the sea. This contains a huge beautiful castle/gate and originally was a main entrance into the city. It it the intersection of six main roads including the Calle Colon. (I read all this history just now to write this review.) Thus the name of the Hotel - de la Mar - and the word "Palau" means Palace in the language of Valencian Catalan. IT IS THE PERFECT LOCATION TO BE. Minutes away is an entry to the Cauce del Rio Turia, where one can walk for miles along the park which used to be the River Turia. 15 Minutes the other way are all the main attractions and restaurants of the old city. Our room was beautiful and modern and the staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. They have a small work-out room with 4 machines in the basement area as well as sauna and a small lovely swimming pool with water jets and relaxing music and chairs to sit on. In the central courtyard is a spa where one can get a massage and there are tables and chairs in sun or shade. They have a great restaurant where we had a complimentary breakfast everyday and the food and choice was amazing. We did not try the dinner there but I saw that it had many people eating there and the menu looked fabulous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Allow me to personally thank you for your kind review, with an especial remark to our convenient location and our nicest restaurant. It is really important to us to be able to exceed the expectations of our customers and with words like yours, we feel that we are succeeding. I will share your opinion with the rest of the team members whom will undoubtedly be delighted to hear it. Sincerely yours, Vicente Juanis General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts, UK

Smart hotel well positioned for old city

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Ambiance was smart but friendly at all times
Location: As stated close to tahe old town. We used the hop on hop off bus which started a 10 minute walk away. The blue route takes you to the port and beach .
We arrived at 11am and hoped to leave our luggage but the staff quickly found a room that was already cleaned and ready. So we were very please with this. The room we had was in the relatively newly built courtyard, very modern and clean with a large bathroom. Black furniture and wooden floors. The main part of the hotel is a converted palace with marble entrance hall and staircase. The hotel is well placed to walk into the old town and also walk in the gardens of the old river bed. We had an excellent meal in the hotel retaUrant on the first (Sunday night). There seemed to be a shortage of restaurants opening late on a Sunday. However when we used the restaurant the second night as we were tired our meal was not so good, ? Change of staff. Breakfast was not included in our package but was well worth the cost. A very good assortment of hot and cold food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for dedicating part of your precious time to share your experience with us. It helps us understand our strengths and flaws and incidentally, it allows us to cater better for the needs of our guests. I hope we see you again soon and thank you again for taking the time to write your comments, we really do appreciate it. Kind regards Vicente Juanis General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice try

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Good location, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: See above
Location: Centrally located close to old town and city of arts and science.
Hotel is located close to eveything you would want to see in Valencia. We had booked superior rooms with a request for 2 twin beds instead of king beds but when we checked in we were given king beds. After about 30 minutes of fussing they finally found rooms with twins as we requested. Staff was great. Rooms were very hot and stuffy, had to sleep with the windows open in February. Beds were too soft and mushy. Lounge/bar was small and not very appealing. Other than that the stay was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Client, I would like to thank you for your kind opinion shared with other Expedia customers. We'll use to review and improve everything needed. On the other hand, I will personally let the staff know about your comments and they will be overjoyed you felt to mention them so thank you. All my team and myself remain at your disposal for anything you may need in a future visit to your hotel in Valencia. Kindest regards. Vicente Juanis General Manager
4 out of 5
by Christine

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Valencia. The spa downstairs is beautifully designed and equipped. Rooms were clean and spacious, although rather spartan in decor. Staff were welcoming and friendly. I would not say this is truly a 5 star hotel, the amenities (lounge/bar, restaurant), views from the room and general layout prevent it from having a 5 star ambience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Madam: First of all, I would like to introduce myself as General Manager of Hotel Hospes Palau de la Mar, and I would like to thank you for your kind opinion received regarding your last stay in the hotel, which I have carefully read. I am at your service in order to help you with anything you need in Hospes Palau de la Mar *****. Please, do not hesitate to let me know about your next visit, because It will be a pleasure for me to welcome you personally to your Hotel in Valencia. Sincerely yours, Vicente Juanis Director
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located and quiet

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were great and very friendly and helpful. The concierge recommended some super restaurants. The main entrance is lovely but we felt the rooms and carpets are a bit dated. As a 5 star hotel, they need to look at things like the very dented and tacky wastebin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, First of all I would like to thank you for your kind opinion, which I have carefully read. It has been a pleasure for me to read some of your comments, and use others to strive to improve as much as possible. Should you need anything regarding our Hotel, please do not hesitate to let me know. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to your hotel in Valencia. Kindest regards, Vicente Juanis General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice spa hotel with excellent service

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros - excellent service offered by the friendly and helpful staff at the reception - walking distance to the old town with plenty of restaurants and shops - safe neighborhood - nice spa facilities - decent breakfast buffet spread Cons- heater is the only available option in the room during winter, hence the room was very stuffy in the evening with no ventilation. We were asked to sleep with the windows opened and it was quite noisy. Did not sleep well for the past 2nights - faulty and outdated treadmill machine in the gym - wifi speed is extremely slow
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all I wish to thank you very much for your comments regarding our Hotel. I really appreciate it because we can achieve the customers expectations using their opinions in order to improve anything which is needed. It will be a pleasure for me to welcome you back personally to your Hotel in Valencia. Sincerely yours, Vicente Juanis
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with great service!

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in an excellent location near to the old town where you can find many excellent places to eat. The room was comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire team, allow me to thank you for your kind words. Bearing in mind our main goal, which is the satisfaction of our clients, it is heartwarming to receive such appraisal thereafter. Nonetheless, and using the information gained with your review, we will continue to work hard in order to always exceed our guests´ expectations. Sincerely yours, Vicente Juanis. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Why go anywhere else?

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Position and room size
Cons: Please change the mattress or at least provide thick toppers
We stayed in room 404 at the end of a corridor so it was quiet. A surprisingly spacious room with a tiny outside balcony but unfortunately no view at all. Didn't matter as we were out all day. Very clean, ample wardrobe space for a short stay, very spacious open bathroom with separate cubicles for the loo and shower. A free-standing bath to one side of the wash basins. The mattress was uncomfortable for my husband who said it felt hard and compacted so maybe new ones are needed? The hotel itself is very compact with small desks for check -in and for the concierge, a small bar/lounge, outdoor seating in the rear and spa facilities which we didn't use. The restaurant where we had breakfast was bright with tables not too close together. The buffett was adequate and you can ask for eggs cooked the way you want. Weather permitting, outdoor seat on the very wide pavements are available. The hotel is a very leisurely 5-10 minute walk to the Old Town with so many places to visit and cafes and restaurants to stop to refuel. The shopping roads are the same distance away in a different direction. Turn right out of the hotel and walk towards the river that's now a fabulous park for families and groups of friends to hang out. Keep walking and you get to the City or Arts and Science. Better than a large hotel and so well positioned. Definitely my choice for another visit to Valencia!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Vicente Juanis, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Allow me to personally thank you for your kind review. It is really important to us to be able to exceed the expectations of our customers and with words like yours, we feel that we are succeeding. Furthermore, we will keep looking into services that can be improved so that the final experience is even more satisfying. I will share your opinion with the rest of the team members whom will undoubtedly be delighted to hear it. Sincerely yours, Vicente Juanis General Manager