Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

short stay in France

Posted Apr 27, 2018
Very close to many fantastic restaurants and lots of shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018 on Hotels
Nice and comfortable stay. Excellent gourmet restaurant LE HANS
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Everything is just fine.
4 out of 5
by RAVICHANDRA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by mark from London

Valenciennes restored to the grandeur it is owed.

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
I was surprised the hotel was in such good condition. My extended family live nearby and I spent many holidays with relatives in the area. To tell you the truth, this part of France was always a little bit run down. But the Grand Hotel now exudes the grandeur it should. The room we had (a standard) was adequate in size, with good quality furnishings. It was really clean, without the dark, dusty corners, the chipped furniture, the stains on carpets that you may see in other non-modern hotels. The only disappointment was that there was no air con. This meant that we risked letting bugs in. Why doesn't the hotel invest in some bug screens if it can't invest in air con? We'd have easily given five stars for comfort then.
4 out of 5
by Baljit from U.K.

A comfortable and enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Arrived at 2:00am and had no problems checking in and found my room to be really nice / easy to settle into. Not as quite as I'd of liked but that's only if you need to sleep during the daytime. Staff were really friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Buckingham

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay with helpful staff, good room, and availability of secure parking at additional cost.
4 out of 5
by Vjeran

A short business trip

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
All was pretty good, but unfortunately WiFi was terrible.
3 out of 5
by Bryson

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Parking can be a hassle. There is only Public parking only with parking meters that you must pay until 6:30pm in the evening or you will receive a ticket. Room was okay, pretty outdated from the comforters, carpet and furniture. Not bad for one night, don't think I could do another.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Opinion

Posted Apr 14, 2015
The location is fine for a town stay, - opposite the railway station. The hotel is well insulated so no problem. The hotel restaurant was good, stylish, with a good menu and the quality is reflected in the price. There is a tram service accross rhe road which will take you to the town centre. There is the usual problem with the room - Only one chair. These places have single occupacy Monday Friday and in the main cater for that.