Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dream getaway

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Spa and the location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Lots of hiking and interesting towns to visit.
Amazing location, beautiful rooms, friendly staff. Went hiking and then did an underground bikeride in a morel cave. Spa was a bliss. Food in the bistro/restaurant is also excellent, but a bit expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Dear Mr or Mrs, Many thanks for your recent stay at Château St. Gerlach and your feedback. We highly appreciate both. What a beautiful words! The estate and its surroundings are great for a hike and a bike ride. Hopefully, we may welcome you again in the future. Yours truly, Pierre Haenen Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, Missouri

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Gorgeous property with a beautiful array of artwork covering the gardens. A perfect quiet stay for our family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by GuestRelations, Hotel Management
Dear Beth, Many thanks for your recent stay at Château St. Gerlach and your words. Indeed a great estate for a quiet retreat! Great to be reading that you have enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we may welcome you again in the future. Yours truly, Pierre Haenen Guest Relations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing! This place is a piece of heaven on earth!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017
Dear Mr. or Mrs, Many thanks for your stay at Château St. Gerlach. Great to read you have enjoyed your stay at the estate. What a wonderful description and superd that it felt as a piece of heaven on earth. We look forward welcoming you again on Château St. Gerlach. Yours truly, Pierre Haenen Guest Relations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful estate and surroundings

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great service, beautiful estate. Rooms are comfortable but a bit dated. We had an excellent dinner in the Bistrot. Great location for day trips in the area. Would go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017
Dear Traveler, Many thanks for your stay at Château St. Gerlach and your review! Great to hear you have enjoyed the estate and its surroundings. Momentarily we are renovating our rooms (room by room) to keep them updated, but fitting in the estate style. We look forward to welcome you again for another trip! Yours sincerely, Pierre Haenen Guest Relations
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Charming chateau

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Very charming and historical location...I was lodged in the "farm house" portion which was just as quaint as the chateau was grand which houses the larger family sized suites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you very much for your stay at Château St. Gerlach. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay and you enjoyed the charm and large history of our estate. Wishing you all the best! With warm regards, Rachelle Pieters Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McKenzie River Inn, Vida, Oregon

Excellent accommodations and food!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Ambiance, food, comfortable bed, very hot water to soak in your own deep bath tub, access to spa amentities although we didn't have the time.
Cons: Upgrade in ceiling and decoration in our room.
Location: Valkenburg is touristy, go for the wilderness attractions... free bikes and mopeds at the hotel.
My boyfriend and I were delighted in our stay at the chateau. As an interior designer, it was over the top for me to stay in a lovely historical chateau. With our inexpensive Expedia price, we were put up in a room that was a little cheaply decorated compared to the rest of the property. Although comfortable, our ceiling was plywood with a little faux finish. The main chateau where the restaurants and apartments were was incredible. We paid $254 for our night. We would stay again. Eat at the bistro to save money... the food is first rate. I had the frog legs and sweet breads, my boyfriend slow cook salmon and dorade white fish with a cheese course. All fantastic! We are glad that we stumbled upon this magnificent hotel. It is rated as Holland's #1 Chateau.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A stay that could have been better

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at 2 bed/2 bath apartment, requested for apartment with terrace but was not accommodated though available. Front desk on weekdays was mostly efficient though famale receptionists on duty during weekend were cold, abrupt and unable to offer information regarding neaby towns. Housekeeping, bristro and resstaurant, on the other hand, offered excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head Island

Wonderful getaway from busy town.

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful surroundings and the building itself. Very comfortable. Great location for the weddings.
Location: We have spent the whole day at Thermae 2000. Quite nice in the cold weather.
Nicely renovated Chateau in the South of Holland. Good restaurant in the premises, expensive, but really nice. Spa is good. Wonderful stay for a weekend.
5 out of 5
by Josephine from Vineland Ontario Canada

A Delightful Taste of Luxury

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
We very much enjoyed staying at this castle property. The estate property is stunning. Our room was in the hotel building and it was lovely. This is also where the delicious breakfast buffet is served. The chapel attached to the castle is a magnificent structure. Don't miss seeing it! There is also a wonderful indoor pool in the castle. While the castle houses the dining room and bistro, we found their lunch and dinner menus very limited and very expensive, so we didn't eat at either place, but we did explore them and they were beautiful. We found a lovely hotel restaurant in the village, that served a huge, delicious dinner for a very reasonable price. Strolling the immaculate, extensive grounds with their well laid out gardens and statuary was so calming. We felt like aristocrats at Chateau Saint Gerlach.