Ratings based on 1,423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Good location for visiting the Grand Canyon

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Good restaurant with a surprisingly wide range of food on offer. They also do a good breakfast. All the staff were very friendly.
Cons: Nothing much that we could think of.
Location: The hotel is located an easy drive about 25 miles south of the Grand Canyon, and not much further from the San Francisco mountains.
We (two adults & two children aged 12 and 11) stayed here two nights while visiting the Grand Canyon. Although initially we had wanted to stay in a place within the park, we were very happy with our choice. It is an easy drive to the canyon, and at the end of the day you get to escape the crowds in the park. Our room was very comfortable and clean. All the staff were very friendly. Attached to the motel is a wonderful 1950s memorabilia shop. The shop also has a selection of some very good glossy books on the canyon, Arizona, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok facilities, harsh policies

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Sadly I made an error in my booking dates. We planned a two day stay, but had the starting date off by one day. The hotel tagged us as a no-show and absolutely refused to negotiate any sort of offset or discount given our appearance on the second day. They are within their policy to do so, but it wouldn't have cost them anything to adjust the dates since we intended to be there two days. They weren't full on any of the dates in question as far as I could tell. My friend asked about borrowing a bowl for cereal for an early morning outing and was rebuffed on that request as well. I won't be returning to this hotel. Otherwise, the facilities are reasonably pleasant. There is extensive work being done to improve the exterior of the main hotel. The interior of the main hotel (there is also an annex which looked a bit bleak) was spacious with nice touches such as a small water fountain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Location is close to GC.
Cons: For the basic hotel like this, I think the price is on the high side.
Hotel staff was nice and friendly. The hotel is pretty basic but comfortable. Overall we had good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy with construction going on even Sunday

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Newly renovated
Noisy. Room not ready with nail in carpet cut my hand
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Great!!

Posted Apr 7, 2016
It was great!! Better than what was expected! I locked my keys in and the receptionist was very helpful! Hotel restaurant is great too! They have their menu list in the room so we knew what we wanted already before going. I've been telling my friends already about how nice and affordable Grand Canyon Inn is!! I'd stay here again and again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Terrible location. Very expensive.

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Prices
Location: This location is good only for sleeping (from 11 PM to 6 AM). NOTHING nearby (only gas stations and a couple of gift stores)
Nothing around. Good just to spend one night (without food or drink). All prices (one restaurant and one bar) are TOOOOOO high!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Everything seemed to be under construction. The towels were rough and small and the room just seemed worn and dirty. Woke up to o hot water and called to see what was up. Was told that the hot water had been turned off and that it would be a while. Overall a bad experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2016
We got to the hotel after a longer-than-expected day around 11:30 pm. The office was closed, but the staff left us easy instructions for how to access our room. We only wish that, as we had 5 people in our party and paid the extra person fee, we could have gotten a cot for the 5th person in our group that late at night. Other than that, the stay was excellent and just what we needed before an overnight hike into the Grand Canyon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2016
very low speed internet connect. no breakfast provided. close to nowhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pomona

1st trip far away from home

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Had a good 2day stay, they're fixing it which it will look a lot nicer. The food is great and their stuff members as well. Grand Canyon not far from there.