Ratings based on 779 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Howard Johnson? Fix your place

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything that was mentioned above.
Location: Groery store, Jack in the Box, coffee drive thru
I arrived on a day that saw the high temperature at 109 degrees. When I entered my room the AC was OFF and about 100 inside. I turned on the AC and it was on low low low and that was as good as it got. I went to use the microwave to find out there wasn't a plug for it. Had to carry it to the vanity and plug it in there!!! Went to the bathroom, opened the window and found the screen was ripped open and 3 large wasps starting flying around the bathroom. I managed to kill all 3 without being stung and broke the towel rack in the process alerting the front desk to such. They said they would make a note of it that I broke the rack trying to defend myself against the wasps. The neighborhood is ghetto and the only nice thing about this place is the paint job on the outside. Do not stay here for more than a day if possible as you might be robbed or your car broken into.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas , NV

Hotel near cousin

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: hotel needs to be cleaned up there were old dirty clothes on the ground outside room needs new lights in room and new furniture in some rooms.
This Hotel was terrible. I had to be moved to a new room 3 times because of non working amenities such as no air , no lights, no tlephone to call front desk. the room was extremely dirty. After 3 moves I asked for a refund. The clerk was very gracious and said he would put in a cancellation on your end because I piaid in advance thru expedia. I now have to contact them. he did not have to inform me of that. Even though rooms were bad hotel staff were very good and professional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Valley California

Don't make the same mistake we did

Posted Aug 30, 2017
From the moment we walked in to the room, we noticed stains on the floor and also the sheets. There was no phone or alarm clock. The tv was so old that the picture was distorted and it gave off a high pitch ringing sound. There was also a used soap and toothbrush on the bathroom window sill. The beds were very uncomfortable. We could feel the springs on them. My husband also woke up with bites all over his body. This was the worst hotel we have stayed in. The location was great but not worth it at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just wish housekeeping would listen

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: the desk staff
Cons: housekeeping staff
All was good Granted it was close to what seemed liked a not so great place. The desk staff went above and beyond. House keeping entered room after we said not to so it was shady that way
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Very happy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and convenient room.
Cons: Breakfast employee was a bit rude. She could be trained to smile and act in a welcoming attitude.
Location: Best location for six-flags visit and Jelly-belly factory tour
Very friendly staff. At time of check-in, the reception gave us the chance to choose from several available rooms which resulted in a very convenient stay. Everything have been perfect. Thanks Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vallejo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno CA

Excellent staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I absolutely loved it. The pool was getting worked on but the staff was nice and my kids were happy. We stayed there to go to six flags but my kids enjoyed their time at the hotel more. N so did I. Staff was amazing. Next time I may take a trip just to stay in the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County CA

Bad experience

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The room was old and outdated. Phone cord was gone. The plug on the lamp next to the bed had been cut off. The sheets were stained. There was mold on the balcony. The toilet leaked and it kept running. We requested a downstairs room and had one upstairs. One light bulb was burned out. Our reservation was for 4 people and only had 2 towels. It was a disaster. I gave the front desk a list of all the problems.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix inside and outside. Improve the TV experience. Put phone books and guides in the rooms.
Location: Just an overnight with a next day agenda.
Electrical fixtures that didn't work, obvious damage to light fixtures including melted covers. Ceiling damage, Drooping ceiling, mirror frames broken. No phone books, maps or other information in the room. Remote for the low-end cable was not original. The main ceiling light in the room would flicker and then go out, then come back on, then go out. Plantings outside that blocked sidewalks and stairs. "Continental breakfast" consisted of pancakes, toast, cereal and green banana's; Orange juice from concentrate that was thick and syrupy, concentrate melted down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Something out of a bad dream

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Me and the family stayed a few night had nonidea what I was in for we booked for four night so.we wanted a balcony room bit were told that everyone had rented all the balcony rooms for the days I would be there bit on day three a bottom floor with a gated back section would be availible so we agreed to wait for it and go when availible but as soon as we seen the new room we could see.it was a bad idea instanly I noticed the how dirty it was from old bar saop to broken glass in picture frames and boards holding up the bed . The list didnt end so.we ask for the cleaner to.come.by and clean it they.do or were supposed only grabbed.bar saop didnt worry aboit anything else like the hair all over the walls in bathroom so I call about tit nothing gets done and them to.top that off their security.gaurd tried.to.let himslef in oir room at 10:30 at night he actulaly ooened.the.door.but top lock stopped.it after about two or three inches he pushed a couple te.but then wife slammed it shut and locked.it again since I just fell asleep but jumped.up.after.that and figured.out who.he was since.he.was.gone.when.I looked and all they said.was they will.talk.to.him. I cant.believe this plave is in buisness workers living there up all hours of night walking around and not on.shift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverton UT

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The guy at the front desk was so helpful, giving us tips on how to get to San Francisco etc. super friendly. The only thing that wasn't so great was the free continental breakfast. Not much to choose from.