Ratings based on 1,773 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice hotel with very attentive front desk staff

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Pros: The staff at the front desk was very helpful and well informed.
Cons: I called room-keeping twice to replenish my water and it took an unreasonable amount of time (over an hour) for them to deliver me my bottle.
Location: It's a short (about a ten minute) walk into the fortified section of Valletta.
I had a lovely stay at this hotel. Other reviews state that the stairs leading up and down to the hotel make access difficult. While I do agree that the stairs could pose a problem to people in poor health, or those with mobility issues, I did not find them a problem at all, and they definitely add to the charm of the hotel. Although the hotel itself is in pretty good condition, some of the furniture and fixtures in the room seem a bit dated. What I appreciated the most of my stay was that the front desk staff were very attentive to my requests and gave excellent service. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for Valetta centre

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Good location. Good breakfast. Bit tired could do with a revamp?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

need updating

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: location close to everything. idea for a short weekend break. and 1st time visitor
Cons: a life from the road down/up to the hotel. 88 steps
Location: the whole of Valletta is with 45-60 mins walk. ferries bus terminal. town centre.Malta Experience
good hotel but a bit dated.we booked this hotel for it location . could not fort it. 15mins for a/p . 15mins for Sliema ferry. 5 mins from bus terminal . 15 mins from town centre and all the bar/restaurante .. But the decor need freshening up. its also very big. too many rooms. was once 5 star .slipping down now. still a good hotel. but for it location. tip there are 88 steps up/down from the road. so if you are not healthy and fit. . you need to arrive via/ car/taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nicosia

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Best value for moneyexceent hotel at convinient location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bromley, Kent

Close to valetta town centre

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Second visit to the hotel. Good facilities and convenient location. Friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

Hotel facilities and services

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Main bar toilets need a makeover but everything else is as in the name, Grand! Easy parking for your hire car, just 5 minutes walk to Valletta centre. Lovely breakfast with great service. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Very recommended especially for value for money. I would happily return with my family next time we visit Malta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Lovely hotel in Valletta

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: Location and spacious room
Cons: No - we were happy with everything
Location: Lots to do in Valletta and close to the bus terminus if you wish to travel to other parts of the island
All staff were very helpful. The courtesy car service to the town was good. Lovely view from the restaurant while having breakfast. Because of the time of year we couldn't use the outdoor pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Poor check in procedures. They must separate Check our and Check in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near everything.

Posted Feb 17, 2018
We had a lovely stay, the breakfast was superb, the building is grand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bucks

Fantastic location

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Fantastic location and great views. Perfect for exploring Valletta.