Ratings based on 2,110 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall uk

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location
Cons: My wife found the position of the hair dryer difficult to use with the mirror.
Location: Location of the hotel is perfect
From the moment we arrived at the hotel we found the staff to be excellent and efficient,the hotel was clean to the point of being spotless in all areas. The facilities were first class, and restaurants five star. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey uss

Great facility: view, beach, pool, lobby. Everythi

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Great value The staff very helpful. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleased

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The outside of the building is looking very tied and doesn’t look like a 5 star hotel, several windows are blown so you can’t see through them
Location: Perfect location, very close to the main area for tourist things, but you need to be a mountain goat to get out of hotel
Very comfortable overall pleased except a couple of issues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Lovely hotel close to town

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff -great facilities close to town
Location: Close to town so able to walk out to eat each night -bus station is just nearby
Hotel was truly 5star-indoor pool was quiet and warm -outdoor pool had plenty of sun beds-nice touch to provide free water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

pleasant hotel, near Valleta with good pool/spa fa

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We stayed early October when the hotel was quite quiet, the service in the restaurants and bars was rather slow and the housekeeping a bit lax. That said we enjoyed the pool area and the concierge was particularly helpful with a problem. We hope to go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very busy Grand hotel,

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfast. Very good outdoor pool area.
Cons: Bedroom finishes and repairing broken items
Location: Close to historic Valletta, with lots of history and good restaurants.
A very friendly efficient large hotel, with good facilities and an excellent outdoor pool area close to the harbour area. Breakfast time is somewhat frenetic and noisy with lots of people constantly circulating around the very comprehensive buffet areas. The rooms are good but a little tired. Our shaver socket didn't work (and wasn't repaired after reporting it) and the pop up plug in the wash basin was defective. There is a long climb up the hill to Valletta, but that give good exercise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great views lose to town centre

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: Better use of outside space
Location: Valletta was a close walk and has many interesting things to do
Very good, checkin was very efficient and we were provided with a cold drink which was very welcome. There was a lot f choice for Breakfast which was all very nicely cooked / presented
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barnsley

Disappointing experience at the GRAND EXCELSIOR

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Its position overooking the harbour
Cons: Staffing levels
Location: excellent location just outside Valetta city walls. Local bus station providing good bus service around the islands along with water taxi services
meal times very understaffed, waiting in line for omelette for 15 minutes and waiting for drinks. Area around pool often dirty with food around the floor left for 36 hours No seats on toilets near to pool, all on the floor and no soaps in dispensers Had to ask for a change of shower curtain as black with mould as was around the bath coffee machine not working around the pool so guests were told they needed to go upstairs into the hotel lounge if they wanted one. i would expect staff would have gone out of their way to have some brought to guests For a 5 star luxury spa hotel the experience was really pool. We expected better and have had better service from 3 star hotels. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Second time of visiting + will go again next year. 98% of staff were superb + very helpful. Great hotel, great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Not really 5*

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: It's location - very handy for walking into Valetta.
Cons: Better trained staff. Better quality of food. Certainly better quality sun beds.
Location: Excellent location - city on the doorstep and close to airport.
The hotel is looking a bit sad and in need of some serious tlc. The food was definitely of poor quality. The staff need licking into shape, most of them were more interested in talking to each other than serving guests.