Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A Pleasant Stay

Posted Oct 27, 2016
A Mon, Tues. night stay in late October with rain. Bad luck one might think, but this little hotel was warm, clean and convenient for us. The only complaint would be very thin walls as we had to hear a guy next door chatting away til midnight. Sounded as if he were in our room! We were disappointed that the restaurant and bar was closed but short drive to Bodega bay the first night had us at a Michelin star restaurant. Terrapin Creek, with excellent food in a casual setting. Lots of locals and a nice experience. Close enough for a day outing to Pt. Reyes with a nice drive through Tomales, Pt. Reyes Station and then to the seashore. Tuesday night, a good meal at Casino in Bodega, just 4 miles away. Dive bar with mostly locals but don't let the looks or feel keep you from enjoying the food. Rotating chefs putting menu for the night on FB. Check it out! So despite some petty complaints from others, on reviews for this hotel, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a hospice

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Italian restaurant nearby is great
Bed small and not comfortable. No TV. Wished we had driven further down the road to bodega bay to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle of nowhere

Posted Oct 4, 2016
This is an extremely old Inn located 1/4 mile downwind from a huge dairy farm operation with a horrible smell of manure and the rooms are not air conditioned. Thank the Lord they let us cancel when we arrived so we could go to another location in Olena about 30 minutes south.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Not a B&B

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Good location. Clean.
Cons: Need an on-site host who greets people and is available if problems.
Location: It is near Bodega Bay and all of the small towns in the region.
I would say the hotel is just OK. In some ways it was like staying in a B&B in that the building is old and rustic. But unlike a B&B the service was virtually non-existent. We never met our host. We picked up the key at the restaurant bar. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was acceptable. But the rooms were small and no sound insulation between rooms. The shower was tiny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Noisy!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Cons: Night clerk to handle noise, problems. What if there had been a health emergency or problem needing police??
Location: Map of area for those of us without GPS!
During the night, the argument of one family in the neighboring room was very disruptive! The room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom great.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Livermore

Great stop on highway 1.

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Self check in was great! Good communication throughout by email. The attached bar and restaurant was really good food and service. This was a good stop!
3 out of 5
by Cindy from Rocklin

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is nice but would of liked to have a TV and the bathroom needs some better nonslip rugs. The floor was so slippery, I fell out of the shower.
3 out of 5
by Kathy from Cleveland

Clean, acxeptable but too much for what it is....

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for 2 nights- literally only slept in the room. No central AC but due to location wasnt really needed. No TV in the room which wasn't a nig deal since we just needed a place to sleep. The price was high but was a cute boutique hotel. Coffee, creamer and water were great and readily available. Continental breakfast was good as well. Overall not sure this was wortg the $200+ per night but not a bad spot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Back in Time

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Valley Ford Hotel is a quaint 1867 hotel. Of course there has been upgrades since then, but the old charm shines through. We really enjoyed the outside area out back. It may have been part of the restaurant, but as it wasn't being used, we sat out there enjoying a bottle of wine, bread, and cheese that we purchased at the Occidental Farmers Market. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious enough for the night that we were there. The only recommendations I would make is to add a small chair side table to the room for ease in the morning to enjoy coffee and muffins. I would also have a hairdryer in the rooms. A small thing until you have to go outside into chilly fog in the morning with wet hair.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Very wonderful staff

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I had booked the hotel in haste, but it turned out that I needed to be on a completely different side of Petulama, so when I canceled, they were very considerate, and did not charge me, due to the fact that it was a rush trip. Their kindness was greatly appreciated! if the rest of their hotel service is the same - then it must be a great place to stay!