Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA.

The room was very quaint and comfortable.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The Hotel only has 6 rooms and also has a nice patio to relax on.
Cons: Parking is an issue if you come back from your outings in the evening. Because there are only a few rooms you could designate Hotel guest parking.
Location: Dillon beach 7 miles away The town of Bodega about 5 minutes up hwy 1. Bodega Bay about 10 minutes away. Go north of B/B and you will c several beachs
We loved the location. You could get to any number of towns and beaches in very little time. The convenience of a market and 3 restaurants was very nice also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Driven by for years, finally stayed.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Great place. Good coffee, nice cats. Bed a little too soft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I had read reviews about the noise from the street and actually right in the parking lot of hotel and I did have that the first night. What I didn't know was that the window near the bed wasn't fully closed so the next night after closing and locking the window u barely heat anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice hotel for a minimal-frills stay.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The historic feel.
Cons: Nothing, just not the hotel for a pampered princess.
Location: Close to Bodega Bay, Tomales and Point Reyes. Lots to see and do, whether you love to hike, bike or shop.
This is a great hotel if you like to stay someplace without paying for the "extras" of a modern hotel stay. They have coffee in the hall, hot showers and heaters if it's cold. No AC (although rarely needed), blow dryer, iron or continental breakfast. Perfect for simple travelers, but not for those who need pampering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, CA

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Stayed near Bodega Bay and Armstrong Redwoods over 4th of July. Quaint hotel, excellent (but pricey) food, and close to most of the attractions in the area, less some of the expense of staying nearer the water. May return, but likely if/when we can as a couple, as the small rooms can be slightly more challenging to tolerate whenever with a young child.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Homey and Quiet

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: No television. Bed was super comfortable. The décor was very homey.
Cons: Would have liked to see the owner/manager to tell him/her/them how nice their place is. But was able to write our thoughts in a guest book.
Location: Not too far from Bodega Bay which is a beautiful drive to get to. Very rustic location with some quaint little stores nearby.
A little piece of Americana in the woods. Everything was great! No check-in procedure; your key is left for you on the front porch bench. No elevator for luggage, but it's only one short flight of stairs to the rooms. Reminded me of a bed and breakfast place without the breakfast (no worries, there are places across the road). The thing I liked the best is that there is no TV. This may be a drawback for some, but for us, it was an opportunity to sit on the front porch, talk, and watch the beautiful sunset. One of the best places we've ever stayed in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2015
We felt like we were sleeping in a dungeon. They put us in a handicap room and we could hear every move anyone made in the hotel. Plus the room didn't have a tv.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew from SF

Great getaway spot

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel and awesome restaurant! Beds were a little soft for my liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Is what it is

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Place is ok. The restaurant is right below the rooms so it was noisy till 10:30. Road noise starts early in the morning as well. Room was nice though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada City

Nice hotel close to the coast.

Posted May 16, 2015
The historic Valley Ford Hotel is a quaint old hotel that's been well maintained. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It's located right on highway 1 so you do hear road noise. The price is much better than accommodations closer to the coast.