Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Not a B&B

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Good location. Clean.
Cons: Need an on-site host who greets people and is available if problems.
Location: It is near Bodega Bay and all of the small towns in the region.
I would say the hotel is just OK. In some ways it was like staying in a B&B in that the building is old and rustic. But unlike a B&B the service was virtually non-existent. We never met our host. We picked up the key at the restaurant bar. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was acceptable. But the rooms were small and no sound insulation between rooms. The shower was tiny.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Noisy!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Cons: Night clerk to handle noise, problems. What if there had been a health emergency or problem needing police??
Location: Map of area for those of us without GPS!
During the night, the argument of one family in the neighboring room was very disruptive! The room was clean, bed comfortable and bathroom great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Back in Time

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Valley Ford Hotel is a quaint 1867 hotel. Of course there has been upgrades since then, but the old charm shines through. We really enjoyed the outside area out back. It may have been part of the restaurant, but as it wasn't being used, we sat out there enjoying a bottle of wine, bread, and cheese that we purchased at the Occidental Farmers Market. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious enough for the night that we were there. The only recommendations I would make is to add a small chair side table to the room for ease in the morning to enjoy coffee and muffins. I would also have a hairdryer in the rooms. A small thing until you have to go outside into chilly fog in the morning with wet hair.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Very wonderful staff

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I had booked the hotel in haste, but it turned out that I needed to be on a completely different side of Petulama, so when I canceled, they were very considerate, and did not charge me, due to the fact that it was a rush trip. Their kindness was greatly appreciated! if the rest of their hotel service is the same - then it must be a great place to stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Other Wordly Xperience

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: There were surprising positives. The sheets were exquisite, like silk. The mattress was comfortable. It was clean. Breakfast was ok.
Cons: Where do I begin? Lower the room rate to reflect it's value...
Location: It's outside Fort Brag and Santa Rosa. The hotel sits just a few yards from the highway
, The room was barren and unappealing. My husband was speechless and threatened to leave. We've stayed at B&Bs on the East Coast that were charming, this wasn't. There was no TV, no working WiFi, no cozy chair to sit in while I read a book....actually there wasn't a nightstand on my side of the to hold a lamp. I thought there'd be a TV in the lounge ...couldn't imagine sitting on that furniture. There were no frilly curtains, just cheap blinds to block out the headlights on the highway. OMG. I paid way too much to stay in that room
4 out of 5
by David from Southern Ca.

Last minute business trip stop/ don't miss out!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Was passing though on a business trip, last minute stop. Great little town in the middle of farm county, really relaxing and cozy place to stay. The tavern/ restraunt has great food ! The oysters were amazing. Only improvement I would address was checking in. When we walked in the door there's no one to address incoming guest. Had to walk into the bar/restrunt to ask a waitress where we check in? She instructed us to check in at the bar. We stood at the bar for 15-20 mins staring at the bar tender as she ignored our presents the whole time. Wasn't till I visibly showed my disappointment in the customer service or lack of in the checking in process. I was about to turn and walkout when finally the bartender looked our way and stopped ingnoring us standing less then 3 feet from her. Defiantly needs improvement on the checking in process. Putting the less than except able check in process aside. This was a very nice change in stay for my travels. I travel 12-16 days a month and this was a nice change of pace. Relaxing, great food ! Drink while rocking in chairs in front porch was great ! I would say a hidden gem of a stay! The rest of the staff were outstanding I would recommend stopping and checking it out. I would probable stay here again if I'm in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Un mal comienzo con un sueño placentero

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
El comienzo no fue muy bueno. Casi nos vamos ya que no habia nadie y llamamos por telefono varias veces sin respuesta. Cuando nos estabamos montando en el coche aparecieron para abrirnos. El hotel en general bien solo que la habitacion no tenia television.
3 out of 5
by Carl from Santa Clarita

They need to check their messages

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is an interesting operation. You find your key in an envelope on the bench by the front door, with a checkout form inside, along with information. The 151-year-old hotel is in pretty good shape with modern plumbing. My big problem was that the smoke alarm started chirping in the middle of the first night. I left a message in the morning, but it was never fixed. Fortunately after the first night I learned to sleep through it.
5 out of 5
by Tina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect stop en route to Tomales / Bodega Bay

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Sweet hotel very close to Bodega Bay (10 minutes or so along beautiful road) and picturesque Tomales Bay / Dillon Beach. Quaint country feel with lovely clean decor- the restaurant was closed so we missed out on the food / bar experience.