Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

terrible next to busy and noisy railway line

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: close to cycling routes
1.two lights in room not working. 2. exposed wires. 3. Shower head holder broken 4 owner/ manager complained when I turned up for dinner at 20:25 5 room cleaner knew I was still in the room but kept opening my door to "encourage" me to leave 6. €8 for their minimal breakfast was extortionate 7 Had to enter via a side entrance door after 10 pm and could not find re-entry door on second floor as landing/stairs auto lights were not functioning
4 out of 5
by Bernadette

Nice clean hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very nice and clean. Location not got a lot going on. Stayed here and hired a car to go into valmeinier you ski. Had bed and breakfast which consisted of coffee orange juice and croissants and bread. Hotel closes very early in the evening, had to go in through a side door, climb a dark stairwell which leads back into the hotel. Bar wasn't opened once whilst we was here. But overall nice hotel. Could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Los Angeles

Best place to stay to ride the cols

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location, host, hostess and waitress. Restaurant superior. All shopping needs within 50 meters. Free parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A one night stay on a journey from Italy to home.

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
We had a fairly large room, a bit basic, but perfectly fine. It's a typical ski hotel.we had a good meal in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a welcome !

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Clearly, the warmth and attention of the staff, and its handy location in this part of the French alps if you intend to travel into Italy via the tunn
Cons: The hotel clearly goes back some years but it was spotlessly clean and our bathroom had recently been modernised. No pte car park but space nearby.
Location: We did not see much of St Michel or Modane but this is a good vantage point for this part of the Alps.
Having queued for over two and a half hours on the Italian side of the Frejus tunnel we finally arrived at the Savoy where we had a reservation, at @ 9.45 pm. We had kept in touch by phone throughout. Upon arrival we were told to leave our luggage in the lobby and immediately showed to a table where we enjoyed the most delicious tartiflette with the local wine. The stress disappeared ! We were not rushed at all and their greeting could not have been bettered.
4 out of 5
by Matthew from London

Friendly little hotel with great restaurant

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very simple hotel, but the owner and his family make staying there a pleasure. Room very basic, but comfortable - no lift, so a bit of a trek to the top floor rooms. Location is great - right in the middle of town, plenty of street parking outside, a big Carrefour across the street, 50m from the start of the col du telegraphe. My room was on the back, which is right over the railway line. A little noisy, but didn't really bother me. Owner has a lock-up next door with racks to securely store bikes. A few of the bike tour companies use this place as their hotel in St Michel. Dinner in the evening is a real treat - decent sized menu, great steak and chips. But more than that, the owner and the rest of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, whatever I asked for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location for cycling

Posted Aug 6, 2015
The Savoy is in a prime cycling location and so the bike facilities are excellent. Food was amazing and the location is ideal if you're not there for cycling or doing a split trip - seconds away from the train station. The staff are extremely polite and helpful, only criticism is that the rooms are quite basic (though plenty of charger sockets and the bathroom has clearly been recently renovated). The toilet is extremely high off the ground - even if you're 6ft tall your legs will be dangling above the ground, which is strange!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We stayed here as part of a cycling trip in the Alps. The hotel, manager, food, and location were superb. Everything we needed...... Want to go cycling in the Alps stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

lovely setting

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location was convenient and the hotel very pleasant
Location: Convenient stopping point in transit from Italy to France and also for those who want to explore that area of France
Very pleasant stay and evening dinner. Ideal place to stop on my drive from Milan to Bergerac.
4 out of 5
by James from Tenterden

Savoy Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant and economically priced.