Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staying in the country side

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The location was very quiet, but we did not spend much time there.
Cons: Make sure you have the detailed instructions on how to get there.
Location: It was pretty close to the Normandy beaches, but not a lot else was in the local area.
This was a nice B&B in the countryside close to the Normandy beaches. To get to the beaches you have to go through St Mere Eglise which has a very good airborne museum. I thought I had booked a B&B room, but we ended up with a large one bedroom upstairs and living room kitchenette downstairs. Because of that the breakfast was extra, but it was worth it. The biggest difficulty was finding the place. The detailed directions sent by the owner really helped as I could not find the manoir location on either of the two GPS that I had. Finding a restaurant open on a Monday night was difficult, but the owner directed us to a very good place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for this very nice review. Yes you had some problems to find the MANOIR DE SAVIGNY but I want to inform the readers that my b&b address is known by most of the GPS like TOM TOM GARMIN and also on GOOGLEMAP!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B

Posted May 23, 2015
Nice B&B in the countryside. Room (suite) was large and comfortable. Owner was very personable and helpful. Stayed here while visiting D-Day beaches, it's a bit of a drive from property to most of the D-Day sites but very easy and tolerable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Very nice location in the countryside.

Posted May 6, 2015
We spent only one day in Normandy, and this location was perfect! Off the beaten path, privacy and confort were exactly what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nik from IOW

Delightful, pretty and peaceful

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Very pretty gite, owners lovely and a most restful stay. Will happily stay there again and if you are after a quiet, peaceful and pretty location, this is the one for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LUC from Tarpon Springs, Florida

Out of a fairytale

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hosts. Beautiful estate. They told us about the captivating history of the Manoir in relation to the 2nd WW. The breakfasts were outstanding. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. It was such a quiet and relaxing experience. Too bad we couldn't stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great Normandy Base

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Hotel very pretty with friendly proprietor. Excellent access to major Normandy sites. Town was very accessible with many places to eat, etc. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Un très joli manoir dans un bel écrin de verdure

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Le lieu (très joli bâtiment, dans une campagne calme et belle). La literie de très bonne qualité.
Cons: Tout était parfait.
Location: Bien situé pour rayonné dans le Contentin (Cherbourg, La Hague, Sainte-Mère l'Eglise...)
Excellent séjour en famille dans ce très bel endroit. Nous avons été accueilli par le propriétaire des lieux, qui nous a donné beaucoup de conseils utiles de visite dans la région. La chambre était très propre et très confortable. Très bonne literie et petit déjeuner agréable. Nous y retournerons pour un séjour plus long !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Boston

French country chateau with African themed decor

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Within 20 minutes of Normandy beaches and museums and about 30 minutes to Bayeux, the approach on a one lane road through surrounding farmlands,followed by a winding tree lined drive opening to the Chateau and gardens sets up the experience to come nicely. Owners were gracious and entertained us with the history of the Chateau and surrounding area of Valognes. Rooms are clean and comfortable and feature themed decor from the owner's travels in Africa. There is an honor system bar and the breakfast provided filled us up for the morning. The building has been completely restored by the current owners with comfortable beds and modern baths.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by George Carcagno from USA

Quiet Country Stay

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Manoir de Savigny is set in the countryside, surrounded by pretty gardens. The proprietor was welcoming and very helpful. The room was comfortable, and breakfast was fine. We had a very pleasant stay and highly recommend Manoir de Savigny to anyone who enjoys a quiet stay in the country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jim & Rondi from Michigan, USA

A truly unique experience.

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
A centuries old building in a beautiful country setting provides a very memorable experience. The owner took the time to explain the history of the manoir, helping us to appreciate the place even more. Looking back on the visit, we are disappointed that we could only stay one night.