Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

A Great Value with an Amazing View

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff. The price. The great included breakfast. The free WIFI.
Cons: The guest rooms REALLY need sound-proof doors. When trying to sleep, it's very noisy if anyone is moving in hallways or stairs.
Location: There are several art shops and restaurants nearby. It's fun to explore the narrow streets of the neighborhood, including the artistic graffiti.
The Extremely Good Things: The friendly and helpful staff. The sweeping view of the city of Valparaiso from a location nestled in a charming "art-friendly" little neighborhood. The delicious coffee and bountiful breakfast served in the Fauna's own restaurant... which provides an even more panoramic view than from the rooms. Also open for lunch and dinner. The price we obtained for our pre-paid room on Expedia was extremely reasonable... an excellent value since it includes free WIFI (very strong) and that great breakfast. The Very Good: The architecture of a modern, boutique hotel built onto a rocky cliff amid lots of old buildings. The Not So Good: Taxi's may have trouble finding the place, as ours did. Our driver asked no less than four different people on our search for this tiny little street, Paseo Dimalow... which is really just a 100 foot long cobblestone walking-only road. You will be dropped off, and picked up when leaving by taxi, at the entrance to this road. Baggage needs to be carried or rolled down the road, which includes stone stairs... handicap access is impossible. The Not Good: There is no elevator/lift, so baggage must be carried up and down the vertically-designed little hotel. And the doors to the rooms are not sound-proofed so every sound in the hallways and stairs is heard inside the rooms. Also in the rooms, there are no cabinets with drawers, no closets, and NO TV. Only a very tiny shelf for toiletries in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2018 on Hotels
Hotel had a very cool vibe and aesthetic. Our room on the bottom floor corner felt a little cramped and dark, and because the window opened up on a back alley, we needed to keep blinds closed when in the room. Also because of the way it’s built, sound really travels and you can really hear people walking up the internal staircases and trying to unlock their room doors. The restaurant was very nice and so was the breakfast. The view was amazing from the upper floors and staff were great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best Spot in Valpo!

Posted Feb 26, 2018 on Hotels
What a pleasant surprise! After being dropped by the taxi at the edge of an alleyway, we didn't know what to expect! Fauna was the BEST! Great location and the welcome from the staff was 2nd to none! If I am ever back in Valpo, Fauna is at the top of my list for lodging (as well as meals!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Feb 19, 2018
The hotel is very nice and it’s in a perfect location to explore cerro Alegre. The room is really nice and their towels are soft (a plus). The only thing I would mention is that the shower does not have much pressure, but aside from the room is clean and spacious. The restaurant is amazing and the food delicious, while also enjoying a beautiful view of Valparaiso. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windhoek, Namibia

Excellent hideaway

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Views , comfortable bed, nice breakfast
Cons: Lightning in the bathroom
Location: Centrally located for walking tours.
This place is perfect. Comfortable, spacious, excellent location and connected to a popular restaurant with excellent views. Nice breakfast, great beds, helpful staff. Do not drive to Valparaíso- you will get lost and parking is a nightmare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel overlooking valparaíso

Posted Jan 4, 2018
great restaurant roof deck, good location, great views from the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel but a lot of stairs.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The hotel was nicely decorated and had comfortable rooms. It was in a great location. The breakfast was good, and the restaurant was excellent. The only reason why it did not get 5 stars is because we were on thw third floor and they don't have an elevator. We are young and in shape and it was difficult to drag our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. I would not recommend this hotel for someone who is older or who has trouble with stairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit overpriced

Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Hotels
Modern place, not much character, but staff nice. Changed my room so wifi worked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

An excellent, well located hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: We liked our spacious room which had a very comfortable queen-sized bed with lovely sheets and duvet. We had spotless bathroom with modern fixtures.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The hotel is well located about two thirds up one of the city’s 42 hills. There are many cafes and restaurants within easy strolling distance..
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and (mostly) English speaking. Our breakfast was served at our table in the upstairs restaurant which was also open for lunch and dinner. The hotel staff arranged for our transport to Valparaiso from San Antonio, where our cruise terminated … very convenient and worry-free for us. There was an in-room safe and the security in the hotel was very good. We also liked the convenience of the upstairs restaurant which we occasionally used for lunch and dinner. Although the noise from the restaurant was not an issue, we appreciated the fact that it closed at 10:30 pm. One of the city’s many funiculars, only steps away from the hotel, ran down to the city centre and, more importantly, back up again! There are numerous cafes and restaurants (big and small) within easy strolling distance from the hotel. The city is famous for its large wall murals and graffiti (see photo below), which we found very interesting.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels