Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windhoek, Namibia

Excellent hideaway

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Views , comfortable bed, nice breakfast
Cons: Lightning in the bathroom
Location: Centrally located for walking tours.
This place is perfect. Comfortable, spacious, excellent location and connected to a popular restaurant with excellent views. Nice breakfast, great beds, helpful staff. Do not drive to Valparaíso- you will get lost and parking is a nightmare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel overlooking valparaíso

Posted Jan 4, 2018
great restaurant roof deck, good location, great views from the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel but a lot of stairs.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The hotel was nicely decorated and had comfortable rooms. It was in a great location. The breakfast was good, and the restaurant was excellent. The only reason why it did not get 5 stars is because we were on thw third floor and they don't have an elevator. We are young and in shape and it was difficult to drag our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. I would not recommend this hotel for someone who is older or who has trouble with stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC, Canada

An excellent, well located hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: We liked our spacious room which had a very comfortable queen-sized bed with lovely sheets and duvet. We had spotless bathroom with modern fixtures.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The hotel is well located about two thirds up one of the city’s 42 hills. There are many cafes and restaurants within easy strolling distance..
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and (mostly) English speaking. Our breakfast was served at our table in the upstairs restaurant which was also open for lunch and dinner. The hotel staff arranged for our transport to Valparaiso from San Antonio, where our cruise terminated … very convenient and worry-free for us. There was an in-room safe and the security in the hotel was very good. We also liked the convenience of the upstairs restaurant which we occasionally used for lunch and dinner. Although the noise from the restaurant was not an issue, we appreciated the fact that it closed at 10:30 pm. One of the city’s many funiculars, only steps away from the hotel, ran down to the city centre and, more importantly, back up again! There are numerous cafes and restaurants (big and small) within easy strolling distance from the hotel. The city is famous for its large wall murals and graffiti (see photo below), which we found very interesting.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark

Nice hotel in a good location.

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with a good bathroom. No real storage in the room other than a shelf and a coat stand so would be difficult if staying more than one night. Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views and excellent location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The hotel is located off one of the best streets in the city. There are many little shops and restaurants and the views are amazing. They also set us up with a great driver for both winery tours and airport transfer at an excellent rate. As a side topic, their showers in the rooms had excellent water temperature and pressure which we haven't found anywhere else down in Chile.
5 out of 5
by Caitlin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Beautiful Hotel With Amazing Views

Posted Jul 6, 2017
PROS (many): Beautifully restored hotel, our room had a great view (not all rooms do), breakfast was excellent and in a beautiful setting overlooking the bay, staff very friendly and helpful with all requests. Also, I think due to my Expedia VIP status, received complimentary cocktail and room upgrade. CON: Our room was just next to the lobby and therefore was a bit noisy at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Perfect Example of "Less is More"

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This is just the type of hotel we love when we are traveling out of the country -- something comfortable but not your typical U.S. hotel/motel. Don't be put off by your approach to the Fauna. Neighborhood turned out to be convenient & we felt safe walking around. Rooms are spotless & functional -- great rooftop bar -- breakfast outstanding. Overall: much for your money. We all agreed we would love to come back to Valparaiso & would definitely stay at the Fauna.