Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Nilina

Great convenient hostel

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Just a gem! So cute and in a great area. We couldn't have asked for a better location and price range!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thanks a lot for your review. we hope to see you again soon. best regards! mariano
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

amazing hostel

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Location was right inside a little alleyway, very cool location. Room was very private, breakfast was adequate and very typical. Lovely place amazing location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Irresponsible staff.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Since when is booking in advance not respected? The staff forgot to put my name in their system, despite my reservation that I had made almost a week in advance. So when I arrived, they pretty much made it seem like it was my fault. They said the hostel was full and that I had to leave and find another place.
5 out of 5
by Manuel Burciaga from United States

Amazing hostel in Valparaiso

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
My stay at the hostel was priceless! The staff were professional, friendly, and caring. I would recommend this hostel if you visit Valpo! check in and out was smooth, close by to places to eat and see. The amenities of the hostel were perfect, they have a kitchen for the guests to use and the hostel has 3 private bathrooms which is perfect. The rooms are spacious and the beds are cozy and they have a "treasure chest" type boxes in the rooms to put your belongings in (they can fit a small backpack to a medium size luggage). Def stay in Hostal Casa Volante when you visit Valpo! Finally this hostel has been the best hostel I have ever stayed at!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by owner, Hotel Management
thanks a lot manuel, your review make us proud! best and have great trips!
5 out of 5
by Michy from Miami, FL

Great hostel in a tiny side street 15 min walk

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels
The hostel was hard to locate because the street where the hostel is located (Fisher) is a colorful alley full of stairs. You need to climb a couple flights of stairs to get to the hotel and it is located on a one way street so if you pass it you have to go around all over to get there. The hostel was located close enough to the center that we parked the car and walked. We booked two rooms - 1 for 2 and another for 3. The rooms were big and comfortable. The bedroom for 3 had 1 queen bed and 2 twin and the other had a queen bed. The bathrooms are shared but they have a restroom solely for women, another only for men, and a third that is mixed. The staff was very friendly and helped orient us on where to visit. They have a restriction as to noise so after midnight its quiet until about 6 am. They had coffee, tea, bread and fresh fruit available at all time. The house is old so it does creak but the ambiance was amazing and i loved their decoration. My family was hesitant at first but in the end fell in love with its quirkiness and fun decor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by owner, Hotel Management
Michy, thank you very much for your review. It means a lot for us. All the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ash from New Zealand

Nice place

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Great place to stay, although it was a by hard to find. The room was big and clean and the wifi worked well! We also met some lovely people which was a bonus
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Mariano, Hotel Management
Ash, thank you very much for your review. It means a lot for us. All the best!
4 out of 5
by Mhg from California

Good option Ina good area

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels
I'm not an expert on hostels, so I can't compare in relation to others, but as an option to stay in Valparaiso, this place is a good option. The location is convenient and the staff attention makes you feel safe. The rooms are built of cheap walling so noise travels easily, but for the price I can't complain too much. No breakfast is a sad fact, but they have free fruit and good wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by owner, Hotel Management
Hi mhg!! Thank you very much for your words, it means a lot for us! Best!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location on Cerro Concepcion

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels
Very friendly English-speaking staff. Helped us with sites to see on and around Concepcion hill. Excellent security-you are let in by staff after ringing bell at door. Hostel-style accommodation with private rooms, shared bath and kitchen facilities. The building is older but well maintained to give you a true rustic experience. Access is from Fischer walkway, which is very picturesque with its multi-coloured steps. The front door is about 30 steps up from Urriola Ave. There are banks and a big shopping mall a short walking distance down Urriola. Make sure the ATM machine displays PLUS or CIRRUS stickers as most machines are for domestic use only! This hostel is about half way up Concepcion hill, and has a bohemian feeling with its crafts and artisans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by owner, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. It means a lot for us. All the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Calgary, AB Canada

Be prepared for stairs!

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Liked the ambiance and the young, friendly staff and clientele.
Cons: The building is very old but is reasonably well maintained and clean. The sea-bird spats on the roof are really NOISY but part of the ambiance.
Location: Good central location that is reasonably quiet. The location is well suited to people of all ages who are fit!
We are three adult women travelling from Canada via a 17-day luxury cruise-ship experience to get a taste of the real Bohemian Chile. This little hostal was a unique experience that provided us with down-to-earth livability with all the necessities. The beds were warm and comfortable, the communal kitchen was more than adequate, and the common areas were comfortable. Just be prepared for stairs and the city is full of them! We found that our location was excellent with easy access to the train station with its supermarket while the local streets are full of cheap buses and reasonable taxis. Do take bus 612 for a ride to remember. We chose to walk most everywhere so good shoes are a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Mariano, Hotel Management
Hi Susan, thank you very much for your review. It means a lot for us. All the best!