Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marysville, Oh

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Check in staff was very pleasant
Location: Valparaiso Inciana
Good check in experience, could not get a receipt at checkout, coffee maker in room was missing parts, have to get a remote control that worked . . . and the breakfast was HORRIBLE. Dry crusty food, incomplete and missing, guess there must have something on TV that had the staff too busy to attend to the food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Close to Valparaiso University and dinner options

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Location to Valparaiso University
Cons: See above negative comments
Location: Restaurants
Guestrrom was very unclean. Found used towel in the restroom. Toilet was not clean. Found rolled up blankets thrown on the closet floor. Two beds in our room one with a bed skirt the other without. The hallways were incredibly cold. the staff was accommodating and compensated us for our issues. I would not recommend as a place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Worked for us (young couple)

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great Value. Good location. A tad bit outdate, but most importantly good customer service and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Personnel were great
Cons: Fix the electronic keys
Had a very nice stay. The only drawback was that the electronic keys wouldn't work. It's very easy to get to. Wonderful breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was a dump. Would not even stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel was falling apart. Pipes hsd burst, everything smelled musty and smoky. Did not even spend the night. Keys did not work to get into the riom
3 out of 5
by Carol

Problem with check-in but otherwise good

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
We got there about 7:00 P..M. and the room was not clean and would not be available fro 2 hours due to 4 cleaning staff just not showing up for work that day. We left for dinner and when we returned apparently the only room available was one with a Jacuzzi, which was very nice. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel does not have an elevator.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Be aware you must carry bags up the stairs. The mattress was horrible. Staff were ok but overwhelmed. Tried to check in at 5 pm and no rooms available. Ended up taking a room different than I had reserved. Cut my stay short.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Terrible check in. Staff was nice, but took close to an hour.
2 out of 5
by Jacob

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
This was one of the most problematic hotel experiences I've had in a long time. I tried to check in at 6:00, before an important event I needed to attend (was traveling for work); my room was not ready, and the front desk staff was mostly incompetent and clearly lacking customer service training. Several members of the cleaning staff hadn't showed up for work that day, and the manager let that frustration down to his customers. Eventually, I gave up on checking in and found the (dirty) bathroom next to the pool, where I gingerly changed into nicer clothes for my meeting. I made it to the event, a bit late. When I returned to the hotel at ~10:15, my room had (finally) just been made ready. After waiting for the woman at the front desk to try to swipe my card 10 times (when I suggested that it might be easier to just type the numbers in manually, she actually said, "but then I'd have to do WORK...") before she finally called the manager for help, I made it safely to my room. The room was in need of updating, though it was clean enough for me, I guess. If I had been with my family, my wife would likely have been in tears long before, but if not, probably would have cried about the room. It just had a "we don't have enough revenue to care" vibe to it, evidenced by the random second (non-working) phone in the room with a bunch of buttons missing, or the faint stain on one corner of the duvet, for example. I made it to breakfast one of the two mornings, and it was mediocre.
3 out of 5
by Jordan

Nope!

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
We waited 5 hours past the stated check-in for a room--and others waited longer. Staff blamed the housekeepers. The manager offered to refund us, and we gladly would have stayed somewhere else, but there were no other rooms available anywhere else. One of the side doors doesn't lock at all and when I mentioned it to the staff she said "It doesn't?" and then stared at me--this was the standard response for every issue: the AC is broken, "It is?" We need an iron "You do? It's not in your room?" Staff just had no concept of service. The beds are full, not queen sized, and uncomfortable. The hotel looks old and run-down. On the plus side, breakfast was decent, there was hot water in the shower (but the tub didn't work to take a bath) and our room didn't smell (though some did). I wouldn't stay here again.